This is the "Home" page of the "Dean B. Ellis Library News" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
libguides_banner_new2 ASU Homepage Email a Librarian Article Databases OneSearch Library Homepage

Dean B. Ellis Library News   Tags: news  

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.astate.edu/news Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

October 2013

 

Recently Received Books

Cover Art
Accounting for Non-Accountants - Wayne Label
Call Number: HF5636 .L33 2013
ISBN: 9781402273049

Cover Art
Beautifully unique sparkleponies : on myths, morons, free speech, football, and assorted absurdities - Chris Kluwe
Call Number: PN6165 .K475 2013
ISBN: 9780316236775
Publication Date: 2013-06-25


Cover Art
Cow boys and cattle men : class and masculinities on the Texas frontier, 1865-1900 - Jacqueline M. Moore
Call Number: F391 .M934 2010
ISBN: 9780814757390
Publication Date: 2009-12-01



Cover Art
Freedom National - James Oakes
Call Number: E453 .O13 2013
ISBN: 9780393065312

Cover Art
Hip Hop Africa - Eric S. Charry (Editor)
Call Number: ML3531 .H565 2012
ISBN: 9780253005755

Cover Art
Isabel Allende : a literary companion - Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: PQ8098.1.L54 Z87 2013
ISBN: 9780786471270

Cover Art
Party Politics in America - Marjorie R. Hershey
Call Number: JK2265 .H477 2011
ISBN: 9780205793198


Cover Art
The Barbarous Years - Bernard Bailyn
Call Number: E191 .B35 2012
ISBN: 9780394515700


 

Comments? Complaints? Praise?

To submit feedback or ask questions about topics covered in this newsletter, contact:

April Sheppard, Newsletter Editor, at asheppard@astate.edu or

Jeff Bailey, Library Director, at jbailey@astate.edu.

 

Library Hours

Fall 2013 Library Hours                
Fall Break Hours
 Mon-Thu 
 Fri
 Sat
 Sun
 7:00am - 1:00am
 7:00am - 6:00pm
 10:00am - 6:00pm
 2:00pm - 1:00am
 November 23-24   
 November 25-27
 November 28-30
 Closed
 7:30am - 5:00pm
 Closed

 

Remember: any time that the library is closed, you will still be able to access online resources via the library’s home page

 

Library News

Library Receives Public Programming Grants

2014 will be a busy year for the library! The library received two grants to offer public programming in 2014. All events will be free and open to the public. Events will be posted on the library website as they are finalized.

 

Let's Talk About It : Muslim Journeys,

The Dean B. Ellis Library received a $3,500 grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) to host the “Let’s Talk About It: Muslim Journeys” book discussion series and supplemental programming. The outreach programs aim to to familiarize public audiences in the United States with the people, places, history, faith and cultures of Muslims in the United States and around the world. The Muslim Journeys theme that the Library has chosen to explore is Pathways of Faith.

The Library is working in collaboration with the Jonesboro Public Library and events will take place at both libraries. Dr. John Kaltner, Virginia Ballou McGehee Professor of Muslim-Christian Relations at Rhodes College, is our project scholar and will lead the discussion at each session.

 

Civil War 150 

The Library also received a $500 grant from the Gilder Lehrman Institute with support from by the National Endowment of the Humanities (NEH) to present public programming to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Civil War. Programming for this grant will include scholar led discussions and exhibits.

New Faces in the Library

The Library would like to welcome Erika James and Amber Cunningham to our library family.

Erika joined the Circulation Department shortly before the Fall semester. Originally from Hot Springs, she lives in Jonesboro with her husband and daughter. Erika graduated from Arkansas State with a bachelor in Journalism. When she's not busy working the Circulation Desk or spending time with her family, she enjoys reading and writing.

Amber joined the Serials Department this past August. She attended Arkansas State for three years before discovering a love for building functional art. She then transferred to the Herron School of Art and Design in Indianapolis, getting her BS in Furniture Design in 2008. Amber loves all arts and crafts. When she's not building furniture, making pottery or jewelry, painting, drawing, knitting, or crocheting; she can be found cooking up delicious vegetarian meals.

 

Faculty News & Resources

Allocation Deadline

The deadline to encumber 50% of your departmental allocation for books and media is November 15, 2013,. The deadline for journals and database requests has passed.

Please contact your department’s Library Liaison if you are unsure of your department’s procedures for requesting materials for purchase.

If you have questions about your departmental allocation or are unsure as to who your departmental Library Liaison is, please contact Linda Creibaum x3354.

Attention Advisers : Recommend the Library Class to Your Students

As you advise students for the spring semester, we hope you will consider advising them to enroll in a section of LIR 1011 - Introduction to Using Electronic Information Resources. Students may earn one semester hour of elective credit for successfully completing the class. The classes meet in the Library and are taught by Library faculty.

In this course, students learn strategies for effective information research, including:

  • putting together good searches
  • choosing the best electronic and print resources
  • evaluating resources like books, magazines, articles, and websites for quality
  • selecting and using the best resources for each assignment

Here’s what past LIR students have said about the class:

“I loved this class and think I will now get the best grade possible in any class I may have to do research for.”

“I now go to the library a lot more than I did.”

“Getting more involved with what the library has to offer will help students learn better.”

There are two sections that will be taught from January 21 - March 10 and three from March 11 - May 13.

There is no prerequisite for the course and it is offered in both the fall and spring each year.

To find our course listings select the subject “Library” in the “Look Up Classes” section of Astate Banner Self Service.

 

New Databases

Books at JSTOR

Arkansas State University became the first institution to purchase the entire 14,000+ volume ebook collection from JSTOR. These scholarly, academic books cover a wide range of topics with books from 41 different publishing companies, many of which are university presses. Books at JSTOR can be searched on the same platform as journal articles, allowing you to search for scholarly articles and books at the same time.

SPORTDiscus

SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive, full-text database covering all aspects of sports, sports medicine, fitness and related disciplines. The database provides full-text access to hundreds of journals, many which cannot be find in any other database.

Statista

This database provides statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword.

WestlawNext Campus Research

WestlawNext Campus Research is a premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information. The database offers quick and easy online legal research, providing access to West's vast collection of statutes, case law materials, public records and other legal resources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip