This is the "Home" page of the "ScienceDirect Database -- Some basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
libguides_banner_new2 ASU Homepage Email a Librarian Article Databases OneSearch Library Homepage

ScienceDirect Database -- Some basics   Tags: databases, research  

This guide will assist you in quickly accessing scholarly article citations on science topics. Some full-text is available.
Last Updated: Feb 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.astate.edu/sciencedirect Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's is meant by Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly articles are articles written by experts in their field. Scholarly articles are found exclusively in a database such as ScienceDirect.  Other databases may have a mixture of both scholarly articles and popular articles as well as some articles that might, at first, appear to be somewhere in between.  Academic Search Complete would be a good example of a database to include all of these and even more.

Scholarly articles are more than just articles written by experts.  To learn more about scholarly articles, visit our How to Tell Scholarly Journals guide.

 

What is Science Direct?

Databases are used to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles.  ScienceDirect is a database that is mostly focused on the Sciences.  However, it is also rich in the Health, Social Sciences and the Humanities.  Most all of the materials found in this database are peer-reviewed journal articles.  Some of the articles can be accessed in full text.
 

Advantage:

There are over 9 million journal article citations that can be found on most topics of science.  Other disciplines are represented to a lesser degree.

Disadvantage:

While most results from a ScienceDirect database search will yield only citations and abstracts, a surprising number can be found full-text using a particular search feature. That feature will be explained later in this guide.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Robin Payne
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip