Accounting Resource Guide
There are many resources available to you through the Dean B. Ellis Library. This guide is intended to help you find both print and online accounting resources. Please note: this guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Sherry Eskridge, at seskridge@astate.edu.
SEARCH ONESEARCH
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
SEARCH OUR CATALOG
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
CPA Exam
Applying for the Exam
- National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) -- state requirements to sit for the CPA exam.
- NASBATools -- additional information and assistance about becoming a CPA.
Preparing for the Exam
CPA-Exam.org -- exam contents, pass rates, and other frequently asked questions.
Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library
If you are unfamiliar with how to locate books using the library's online catalog, you can learn how by reading the LibGuide on using the Library Catalog.
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for accounting begins with "HF". The basic breakdown is as follows:
|
HF 5601 - |
|
- |
|
Accounting, Bookkeeping |
|
HF 5668 - |
|
- |
|
Auditing |
|
HJ 1 - |
|
- |
|
Finance |
|
HJ 9 - |
|
- |
|
Public Finance |
|
HJ 2240 - |
|
- |
|
Revenue, Taxation |
|
HF 5735 - |
|
- |
|
Taxation of government property |
|
HF 5735 - |
|
- |
|
Business records management |
|
HJ 9701 - |
|
- |
|
Public Accounting |
These call numbers are by no means all-encompassing and you may find books on your subject within other areas. Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. For instance, books on library finances and accounting would be located in a different area from the books listed above.
DOUBLE LINES
Databases
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view all our Marketing databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index to articles from thousands of business journals from 1971-present. Full text is available for selected journals. Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry. Provided by the Arkansas State Library Traveler program. - Business Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. - Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots. - Globus and NTBD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical trade releases, international market research, and country analyses. - Mergent Intellect (formerly Hoover's) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Mergent Intellect offers a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals and government databases.
Regulations & Standards
These are some of the popularly referenced accounting regulation and standards available online:
Internal Revenue Code - Tax Code, Regulations and Official Guidance
FASB Publications - SFAS, EITF, Concepts Statements, newly-issued standards
International Financial Reporting Standards - IASB standards
GASB standards - only summaries are available for free
SEC Staff Accounting Bulletins
PCAOB Standards - Auditing, Ethics & Independence, Quality Control, Attestation, Superseded, Guidance, Current Standard-Setting and Related Rulemaking Activities, and Standing Advisory Group
Links to "Standard Setters & Regulators" as described by the AICPA:
CONTACT US
(870) 972-307724 HOUR CHAT
|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
WORDS TO USE
Accounting covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- Accounting
- Accounting Policy
- Auditing
- Banking
- Bookkeeping
- Equity
- Finance
- Financial Reporting
- Financial Statements
- Income Tax
- International Finance
- Investment Policy
- Investments
- Laws & Regulations & Rules
- Securities
- State Tax
- Statistical Data
- Tax Rate
- Tax Refund
- Taxation
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
Accounting AND auditing AND
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
