ENGINEERING GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online engineering resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Dominique Hallett at dhallett@astate.edu
SEARCH ONESEARCH
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
SEARCH OUR CATALOG
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The main call numbers for Engineering begins with "T". The basic breakdown is as follows:
| TA1-2040 | - | Engineering (General). Civil engineering (General) |
| TC1-978 | - | Hydraulic engineering |
| TC1501-1800 | - | Ocean engineering |
| TG1-470 | - | Bridge engineering |
| TJ1-1570 | - | Mechanical engineering and machinery |
| TJ268-740 | - | Steam engineering |
| TK1-9971 | - | Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering |
| TN1-997 | - | Mining engineering. Metallurgy |
| TP155-156 | - | Chemical engineering |
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: Introduction to the engineering profession (TA157 .K423 1985) vs. Fundamentals of hydraulic engineering systems (TC160 .H86).
Occasionally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than art and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For example, Advanced Engineering Mathematics has a call number of QA300 .C58 1987 because it has to do more with mathematics than engineering.
DOUBLE LINES
DATABASES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with ASU to view the article or on the ASU campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view the full list of Engineering and related databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowMostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMassive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles. - Science.gov This link opens in a new windowMetasearch engine and gateway to science-related information published by U.S. government agencies. Searches 29 different governmental databases at one time.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- SciTech Connect - OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text documents and citations previously found in Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
- STEM Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
STEM database is comprised of more than 500 scholarly journals and popular science magazines. These publications support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math. All coverage is front-to-back full-text, with images and graphics reproduced exactly as they appear in the original editions. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowover 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Dominique Hallett
24 HOUR CHAT
|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
WORDS TO USE
Engineering covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- "ABET Accreditation"
- CAD
- "Civil Engineering"
- "Electrical Engineering:
- "Energy efficient"
- EPA
- "Feasibility Analysis"
- HVAC
- IEEE
- "Load Verification"
- Manufacturing
- "Mechanical Engineering"
- Ohmmeter
- OSHA
- "Phase Angle"
- "Policy Manual"
- "Project Management"
- "Quality Assurance"
- "Software development"
- "Regulatory agency"
- Resistance
- "Theoretical analysis"
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
Resistance AND "Load Verification"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
(870) 972-3077
