Skip to main content
Arkansas State University

Economics and Finance : Home

Learn about Economics & Finance resources available through the library.

Economics & Finance Resource Guide

There are many resources available to you through the Dean B. Ellis Library. This guide is intended to help you find both print and online Economic & Finance resources. Please note: this guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Sherry Eskridge, at seskridge@astate.edu.

SEARCH ONESEARCH

 
         Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
 

SEARCH OUR CATALOG

       
     Book Icon   Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
 

 
Enter your search:



 
   

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library

If you are unfamiliar with how to locate books using the library's online catalog, you can learn how by reading the LibGuide on using the Library Catalog.

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for accounting begins with "HB". The basic breakdown is as follows:

HB1 - 

 

-

 

Economic Theory , Demography

HC 10 -

 

-

 

Economic History and Conditions

HD 28 -

 

-

 

Industries; Land Use, Labor

HE1 - 

 

-

 

Transportation and Communications

HF1 - 

 

-

 

Commerce

HG1 - 

 

-

 

Finance    

 HJ 257 - 

 

-

Public Policy 

HJ 3851  - 

 

-

 

Public Finance

 These call numbers are by no means all-encompassing and you may find books on your subject within other areas. Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. For instance, books on library finances would be located in a different area from the books listed above.

DOUBLE LINES

Databases

Databases with green All Full Text or partially green Partial Full Text icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Document Delivery.

To view all our Marketing databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

CONTACT US

CONTACT US

Email Icon  refdesk@astate.edu

   (870) 972-3077

24 HOUR CHAT

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

WORDS TO USE

Economic & Finance covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:

  • Banking
  • Behavior
  • Cost Analysis
  • Cultural Economics
  • Education
  • Exports
  • Finance
  • Financial Reporting
  • Foreign Exchange
  • Geography
  • Global Economics
  • Growth Rate
  • International, Commercial Law
  • International Trade
  • Law
  • Policy Makers
  • Statistics
  • Teaching Cultural Economics
  • Theory
  • Transportation and Communication

If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:

Economics AND Finance 

You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.