POLITICAL SCIENCE GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online political science resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Dominique Hallett at dhallett@astate.edu
SEARCH ONESEARCH
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
SEARCH OUR CATALOG
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The primary call number for political science begins with "J". The basic breakdown is as follows:
|
F192 – F205 |
- |
District of Columbia, Washington |
||
|
J1 – J981 |
- |
General Legislative and Executive Papers |
||
|
JA1 – JA92 |
- |
Political Science, General |
||
|
JC11 – JC605 |
- |
Political Theory |
||
|
JF20 – JF2112 |
- |
Political Institutions and Public Administration, General |
||
|
JJ1000 – JJ1019 |
- |
Political Institutions and Public Administration, North America |
||
|
JK1 – JK9993 |
- |
Political Institutions and Public Administration, United States |
||
|
JS39 – JS8500 |
- |
Local Government, Municipal Government |
||
|
JX1 – JX6650 |
- |
International Law |
||
|
JZ5 – JZ6530 |
- |
International Relations |
||
|
KF1 – KF9827 |
- |
Federal Law, Federal Regulations, Congressional Legislation |
The numbers that follow the beginning letters relate to a more specific focus of the subject. For example the call number range JK1 – JK9993 represents items about political institutions and public administration in the United States. Within this range is Where Have All the Voters Gone? with the call number JK1976 .W38 2002.
Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than political science and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.
DOUBLE LINES
DATABASES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with ASU to view the article or on the ASU campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view the full list of Political Science and related databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- American Politics: Campaign Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage of all presidential and many important regional campaigns from the Early National Era to Reconstruction.
Supports research of early American history, political history, political Science, economics, ethnic studies, labor history, and gender studies.
More than 300 papers from over 30 states published between 1803 and 1876 - American Politics: Campaign Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of all presidential and many important regional campaigns from the Early National Era to Reconstruction.
Supports research of early American history, political history, political Science, economics, ethnic studies, labor history, and gender studies.
More than 300 papers from over 30 states published between 1803 and 1876 - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMassive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. - Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. - See more at: http://www.socialismonfilm.amdigital.co.uk/#sthash.dRlv23YO.dpuf
Dominique Hallett
24 HOUR CHAT
|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
WORDS TO USE
Political Science covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- politics
- democracy (political ideology)
- Russia (country names)
- sovereignty
- "environmental policy" (or environmental AND policy)
- "foreign relations" (or foreign AND relations)
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
Politics AND "environmental policy"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
(870) 972-3077
