It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal Justice & Criminology: Home
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online criminal justice & criminology resources.
CRIMINAL JUSTICE & CRIMINOLOGY GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online Criminology sources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at firstname.lastname@example.org
Littering: 14 votes (58.33%)
Loitering: 10 votes (41.67%)
Total Votes: 24
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for criminal justice begins with "HV". The basic breakdown is as follows:
HV6001 - 7220.2
HV6035 - 6197
HV6201 - 6249
HV6250 - 6250.4
Victims of Crimes
HV6251 - 6773.55
Crimes and Offenses
HV6774 - 7220.5
Crimes and Criminal Classes
HV7231 - 9960
Criminal Justice Administration
HV7935 - 8025
Administrative and Organizations
HV8081 - 8099
HV8301 - 9920.7
Penology, Prisons, Corrections
HV9051 - 9230.7
The Juvenile Offender
HV9261 - 9430.7
Reformation and Reclamation of Adult Prisoners
HV9950 - 9960
By Region or Country
The numbers that follow the beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the subject, for example: HV8081-8099 represents books about private detectives within the general subject area of criminal justice. An example of a specific call number for a book entitled Quantitative Studies in Criminology is HV6018. Q36.
Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than criminal justice and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.