PSYCHOLOGY AND COUNSELING GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online Psychology and Counseling resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at rrobinette@astate.edu
Poll
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
Recent Books
Writing your psychology research paper by Call Number: BF76.7 .B35 2018ISBN: 9781433827075Publication Date: 2018
Research methods in psychology : evaluating a world of information by Call Number: BF76.5 .M667 2018ISBN: 9780393617542Publication Date: 2018
The art and science of mindfulness : integrating mindfulness into psychology and the helping professions by Call Number: RC489.A32 S53 2017ISBN: 9781433826986Publication Date: 2017
Databases
Some of these databases provide the full text of the articles, while others provide only citations and/or abstracts.All are accessed by clicking on the “Library Databases” link from the library homepage.
To view all our databases, click here.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE citations and additional life science journals.
***Clicking on "LinkOut - more resources" under each entry will bring up a list of links to the full articles outside the PubMed database. Some articles will be available for free, others for a fee. Make sure to check each link - one link may provide free access, another may not. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowMostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowFree, full-text, scholarly and scientific journals in an independent database containing ca. 12,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMassive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowover 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for Psychology & Counseling begins with "BF". The basic breakdown is as follows:
|
BF1 - BF990 |
- |
Psychology |
|
BF173 - BF175.5 |
- |
Psychoanalysis |
|
BF176 - BF176.5 |
- |
Psychological Tests and Testing |
|
BF180 - BF198.7 |
- |
Experimental Psychology |
|
BF636 - BF637 |
- |
Applied Psychology |
|
LB1050.9 - LB1091 |
- |
Educational Psychology |
|
BF699 - BF711 |
- |
Genetic Psychology |
|
BF697 - BF 697.5 |
- |
Differential Psychology , Individuality, Self |
|
BF712 - BF724.85 |
- |
Developmental Psychology Including Infant, Child, Adolescence, Adulthood |
| BF309 - BF499 |
- |
Consciousness. Cognition Including Learning, Attention, Comprehention, Memory, Thought & Thinking, Psycholinguistics |
|
BF207 - BF209 |
- |
Psychopharmacology |
| BF501 - BF505 | Motivation |
Occasionally a very different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than psychology and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.
|
chat loading...
|
