Creating a Folder
Creating a folder in any database you frequently use is a good idea. This allows you to do several different things, depending on the database. In CINAHL and the EBSCOhost databases you can:
- Save searches you have created
- Save articles for future reference
- Create journal alerts so every time a new issue is published you will be sent its table of contents via email
- Create article alerts and every time a new article that fits your search criteria is added you will be sent the citation on a timetable you set up
- Create Custom folders which you can share with other users
To create a folder, first click on "Sign In" in the upper right corner and create a new account. Remember your User Name and Password for future reference.
When you create a folder in ANY EBSCOhost database you only need to do so in one database and that account transfers across ALL of their databases, so your User Name and Password are the same and anything you save or create in one database will show up when you login from any other database. It's just one big account.
Using Your Folder
Once you have created your folder, as you do searches you can save the articles by clicking on the folder icon to the right of the citation.
To save a search, once you have run your search, click on "Search History" below the search box, then "Save Searches/Alerts". You will be taken to a screen that prompts you to name your search, select whether or not you want it saved permanently or temporarily (24 hours), and whether or not you want an alert created for that search.
If you wish to follow a particular journal, click on "Publications" at the top of the screen and search for the journal you want. Once you find it, click on the title. From the details screen click on "Share", then the E-mail Alert" link. The alert window appears and you will set your parameters.
This is what your folder looks like:
One handy thing you can do is share your folder with anyone you designate, or create a custom, separate folder that you share instead of your own personal one. This will allow you to share articles among a group of people.
For any questions about how to use any functions of the Folders, click on the "Help" button in the upper right corner.
