Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page provides information for those in the university community seeking both to observe copyright restrictions and to obtain copyright protections for their work.
Resources for instructors and students:
The following resources may be useful to those seeking information to ensure that their actions in using copyrighted materials are within the law.
10 Big Myths About Copyright
This resource is Brad Templeton's attempt to correct 10 common myths about copyright and Fair Use.
Bb Copyright, Fair Use, & Educational Multimedia FAQ
Brief information on copyright and Fair Use as it applies to Blackboard
Bitlaw: A Resource on Technology Law
BitLaw is a comprehensive Internet resource on technology and intellectual property law. In this site, you will find complete copies of the United States Patent, Copyright, and Trademark statutes, as well as the relevant regulations from the Code of Federal Regulations. BitLaw includes converted versions of the TMEP and MPEP ( office manuals created by the United States Trademark and Patent Offices, respectively). Each of these documents include links to the relevant statutory and regulations.
Copyright & Art Issues
Compiled by Christine L. Sundt, a website that covers the arts, including museums, and education at all levels on copyright issues. Extensive links to relevant websites - including papers and presentations.
Copyright and Fair Use- Stanford University Website
An interesting website covering the latest news on copyright and related issues. Covers a variety of issues facing faculty and students concerning copyright.
Copyright Law & Graduate Research
Information for graduate students concerning thesis and dissertations by Kenneth Crews produced for Proquest Information and Learning as a free education service.
Copyright on the Internet
A collection of sites from Kent University relating to copyright issues concerning all digital formats.
Cornell University Legal Information Institute
This site contains extensive coverage of the legal basis for copyright considerations, including both national and international sources.
Fair Use in the Electronic Age: Serving the Public Interest.
Contains information on Fair Use, Author Rights, Legislation, International Copyright, and a Timeline of US Copyright.
Fair Use Websites from the ITTC / Arkansas State University
A page of links to sites containing information on fair use from multiple sources, including webinars.
Summary of the Report on Copyright and Digital Distance Education
Q & A from the American Library Association about the TEACH Act and applying it to Blackboard
University of Texas "Crash Course in Copyright"
This resource provides answers to many common questions concerning copyright: fair use, copyright in the digital library, online presentations and copyright, etc. In addition, the site links to Georgia Harper's Copyright Tutorial. In addition to basic copyright information, this page provides a link to many of the publishing companies with contact information for copyright permissions. Instructors may print and complete the form and fax or mail it to the appropriate publisher.
Other Copyright Websites
These websites are different in their outlook. The first representing the publishing interests of the Association of American Pubishers. The second site is for the Copyright Clearance Center which represents a large number of publishers including newspapers and journals. Both are commercial sites.
Association of American Publishers
The Association of American Publishers (AAP), with some 310 members located throughout the United States, is the principal trade association of the book publishing industry. There are links to specific publishers and information concerning copyright.
Copyright Clearance Center
Formed in 1978, the CCC facilitates compliance with copyright laws by providing a "one-stop-shop" for those seeking to pay for copyright permission to use a specific work. According to the CCC, the company manages access to "over 1.75 million works and represents more than 9,600 publishers and hundreds of thousands of creators, either directly or through their representatives." If an instructor is unable to secure copyright permission from a publisher/creator, the CCC is the next logical step.
A place to find material that allow use of materials with less restrictions:
Want to let people share and use your photographs, but not allow companies to sell them? Looking for access to course materials from the world’s top universities? Want to encourage readers to re-publish your blog posts, as long as they give you credit? Looking for songs that you can use and remix, royalty-free? If so, you need to learn more about Creative Commons.