This guide is intended to help you find both print and online gender communication resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, April Sheppard, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
|Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:|
|Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:|
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The main call number for gender communications begins with "P," but you may find relevant books in other areas as well. The basic breakdown is as follows:
|BF637.C45||-||Psychology. Communication. Interpersonal Communication.|
|HQ1075 - 1075.5||-||Sex role|
|HQ1088 - HQ1090.7||-||Men|
|HQ1101 - HQ2030.7||-||Women. Feminism.|
|P87 – P96||-||Communication|
|P96.S48 - P96.S482||-||Communication. Sex differences. Sexism.|
|PN1590.W64||-||Literature. Women. Including feminism and feminist theater.|
Occasionally, a totally different call number will appear. This means the item covers more than gender communication and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For example, The Power of Feminist Art : the American movement of the 1970s is assigned the call number N72.F45. This means that this book is more about art movements than communication. That doesn't mean it won't work for your topic though!
Databases with green or partially green icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Document Delivery.
To view all our Communication databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
Gender communication covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
communication AND "sex differences"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.