Databases and Journals
Typically the best way to find scholarly materials on your topic is by searching the library's research databases. Below I have collected several of the databases most relevant to research in Education. You can also search for articles from a particular journal, which you can learn how to do from our Journals Search guide.
Remember if you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyCampus credentials before you can access any ebooks, journal articles or research databases. Do not hesitate to contact me if you are having trouble finding or accessing the sources you need.
Search Tips
If you place quotation marks around multiple search terms it will search as an exact phrase. For example "classroom management" will find only those two words right beside each other, thus making your search more precise.
Any time you can think of another way to phrase your search or of synonymous terms, you can use the OR operator to broaden your search. For example, you could search for reading assessment OR reading tests and find more results than you would have for only one of the searches.
You can also truncate search terms to expand your search by adding an asterisk (*) at the end of your search term. For instance, adolescen* would yield results for adolescent, adolescents, and adolescence.
You can read more about Boolean operators in this guide.
Databases
- Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowEducation database with a strong collection of full-text articles.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDigests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from education and education-related journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMassive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles. - PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
SEARCH ONESEARCH
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
