LibGuides: Geography: Home

DATABASES

To view all our databases, click here.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital maps: Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, Mississippi and Missouri.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maps published as part of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Culture, communications, business, travel and maps from 175 countries.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Users accessing Wiley Online Library are subject to Wiley's Terms and Conditions for Use.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Large, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
Credo Reference (includes Credo Literati) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A library teaching tool and online research platform that provides top quality reference sources paired with point-of-need instruction.

BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for geography begins with "G". The basic breakdown is as follows:

G1 – G9980	-	Geography (General), Atlases, Maps
GA1 – GA1776	-	Mathematical Geography, Cartography
GB3 – GB5030	-	Physical Geography
GC1 – GC1581	-	Oceanography
GE1 – GE350	-	Environmental Sciences
GF1 – GF900	-	Human Ecology, Anthropogeography

The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: consider the subject headings and specific book call numbers, Geography – History (G80.M38 2005) vs. Agricultural Geography (S453 .C54 1980).

Occasionally, a totally different call number will appear. This means the book is more about the agricultural aspects of geography and higher importance was given to the concept of (S) agriculture when the call letters and numbers were assigned.

ONESEARCH - Search everything the library has to offer!

Search the ASU Library including databases, catalog, and journals