LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Home


			Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:


			Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
	Enter your search:

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

Databases

Databases with green or partially green icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.

To view all our Nursing and Health Profession databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of high quality medical research.
Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 17 ProQuest databases simultaneously. Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
In-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
MEDLINE Ultimate is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1857 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical reference tool designed for use by rehabilitation clinicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists at the point of care.
Provides valid and relevant information intuitively and conveniently, using the best available evidence to help support clinical decisions.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
World's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical decision support resource, trusted worldwide by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care.
*Note this database requires authentication through our campus EZproxy system for both on-campus users as well as off-campus users.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Users accessing Wiley Online Library are subject to Wiley's Terms and Conditions for Use.

Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for physical therapy begins with "R". The basic breakdown is as follows:

RD792 – RD811	-	Orthopedics Surgery, Physical Rehabilitation
RM695 – RM893	-	Physical Medicine. Physical Therapy
RM930 – RM931	-	Rehabilitation Therapy
RM950	-	Rehabilitation Technology

The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item. For example: Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook (RM205. D75 2008) is general in scope while Clinical Practice of Pediatric Physical Therapy (RJ53. P5 D73 2008) is specific to children.

Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than physical therapy and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For example, Physical Therapist's Business Practice and Legal Guide (KF2915. T453 N53 2008) is more about law than physical therapy. That said, it may still be a great book for your topic!

CONTACT US

library@astate.edu

(870) 972-3077

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

Physical therapy covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:

Athletes
Back Pain
Benefits
Case Studies
Disabilities
Ethics
Evidence-Based
Exercises
Geriatrics
Health
Injuries
Law
Management
Medicine
Methods
Patient Compliance
Pediatric
Physical Therapy
Rehabilitation
Techniques

If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:

Athletes AND teen AND "physical therapy"

You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.