It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online nursing resources.
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online nursing and health professions resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at email@example.com
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
Enter your search:
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
Databases with green or partially green icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Document Delivery.
To view all our Nursing and Health Profession databases, click here.
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Part of PubMed Central family of journals. Additional content specific to biomedicine. Most articles are available for free. Limited articles may be bought for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Medical information on medicine nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Evidence-based point-of-care resource to quickly answers nurses’ clinical questions. This expanded resource includes multimedia (e.g. videos and images), nursing management topics, care plans, leadership and management continuing education modules, additional skills, and more!
MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals.
***Clicking on "LinkOut - more resources" under each entry will bring up a list of links to the full articles outside the PubMed database. Some articles will be available for free, others for a fee. Make sure to check each link - one link may provide free access, another may not.
World's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for anything medical-related begins with "R". The basic breakdown is as follows:
R5 – R920
RA1 – RA1270
Public Aspects of Medicine
RB1 – RB214
RC31 – RC1245
RD1 – RD811
RD78.3 - RD87.3
RE1 – RE992
RG1 – RG991
Gynecology & Obstetrics
RJ1 – RJ507
RL1 – RL793
RM1 – RM950
RS1 – RS441
Pharmacy & Materia Medica
RV1 – RV431
Botanic, Thomsonian, & Eclectic Medicine
RX1 – RX675
RZ201 – RZ999
Other Systems of Medicine
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item. For example: consider the subject headings with the specific book call numbers, Nursing-United States-History (RT4 .E53 2001) vs Nursing-Law and Legislation-United States ( KF2915.N8 G85 2006).
Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than nursing and health professions and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For example, Nursing Law and Ethics (KD 2968. N8 N87 2007) is more about law than nursing - but that doesn't mean it's not a great book for you to use!