Skip to main content
Arkansas State University

Government Information: Home

A short tutorial on finding state and federal information.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

 

 

FDLP Logo

 

 

 
 

Finding Government Information

Click on the following links to learn more about each subject:

Documents in the Library

On the Web

How to Contact Your Elected Officials (opens another guide)

Tax Information (opens another guide)

Federal Government

Arkansas Government

Consumer Information (opens another guide)

Additional Resources


 
Government Documents Staff

Dominique Hallett
Government Documents Librarian
dhallett@astate.edu
(870) 972-2962
Room 227
Bill (William) Sabin, Jr.
Library Support Assistant
wsabinjr@astate.edu
(870) 972-2118
Room 219
     

DID YOU KNOW?

The Astate Library was designated a federal depository library in 1913, and it is believed that Representative Thaddeus H. Caraway, Congressman from Jonesboro, was responsible for securing depository library status for Astate. The Dean B. Ellis Library is one of 1,270 federal depository libraries throughout the United States and territories that provide free access to the information resources of the federal government, and one of 13 federal depository libraries in the state of Arkansas. The Library's collection contains more than 100,000 U.S. government publications, in print, microform, and electronic formats.

FDLP News & Events

GPO Makes Available 11,000 Railroad Retirement Board Publications This link opens in a new windowAug 26, 2020

The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) is partnering with the Railroad Retirement Board (RRB) to make more than 11,000 RRB Board Coverage Decisions and Legal Opinions available on GPO’s govinfo, the one-stop site to authentic, published Government information. The indexed and searchable collection covers final agency decisions and agency guidance documents from 1936–2019. The Board Coverage Decisions available are final agency decisions that determine employer and employee status under the Railroad Retirement Act and the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act. Legal Opinions are guidance documents intended to provide clarity to the public regarding existing requirements under the law or RRB policies.

The public can access the newly available publications for free at https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/railroad-retirement-board-publications

“Congratulations to our GPO teammates and the RRB on making these vital publications available to the public, the Nation’s railroad workers, and their families,” said GPO Director Hugh Nathanial Halpern. “This information is essential for both employers and employees in the railroad industry, and the completion of the project represents GPO’s ongoing commitment to Keeping America Informed.”

“We appreciate the opportunity to partner with GPO on this initiative to make our agency decisions and historical records available to the public, especially members of the rail industry,” said RRB General Counsel Ana Kocur.

GPO’s govinfo is an ISO 16363 certified Trustworthy Digital Repository that ensures free online access to current and historical information from all three branches today and into the future. GPO will continue to make Board Coverage Decisions and Legal Opinions available on govinfo quarterly going forward.

Trivia / Social Media Suggestions

September 4, 1886: Geronimo surrendered, ending last major U.S.-Indian war

September 8, 1900: Galveston, TX hurricane

September 11, 2001: World Trade Center/Pentagon attacks. 

September 19, 1796: President George Washington's Farewell Address

Holidays, Special Days, and Observances

Reference Resource of the Month

The National Center for Education Statistics is "the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." The Annual Reports section of the site brings together data from various surveys.