Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arkansas State University

Journalism: Home

This guide is intended to help you find both print and online journalism resources.

This guide is intended to help you find both print and online journalism resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, April Sheppard, at asheppard@astate.edu.

 
         Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
 
       
     Book Icon   Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
 

 
Enter your search:



 
   

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for journalism begins with "PN". The basic breakdown is as follows:

PN4699 - PN5650      -      The Periodical Press, etc. (General)
PN4735 - PN4748 - Relation to the State; Government an the Press;
Liberty of the Press
PN4775 - PN4784 - Technique; Practical Journalism
PN4825 - PN4830 - Amateur Journalism
PN4832 - PN4836 - Magazines and Other Periodicals
PN4840 - PN5648 - By Region or Country
PN5650 - The Jewish Press

 
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: Journalism as Practice (PN4756 .B66 2007) vs. Journalism Ethics Goes to the Movies (PN1995.9.J6 J575 2008).

Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than journalism and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.  For example, The Law of Journalism and Mass Communication has a call number of KF2750 .T73 2012 because it has to do more with law than journalism - but that doesn't mean it's not a great book for you to use!

DATABASES

Databases with green All Full Text or partially green Partial Full Text icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Document Delivery.

To view all our Communication databases, click here.

To view all our Newspaper databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

CONTACT US

Email Icon  refdesk@astate.edu

   (870) 972-3077

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

Art covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:

  • Broadcast
  • Corporate
  • Digital
  • Ethics
  • Fake News
  • Graphic
  • Journalism
  • Mass Media
  • Narrative
  • Newspaper
  • Politics
  • Press
  • Production
  • Radio
  • Reporter
  • Reporting
  • Social Media
  • Sports
  • Techniques
  • Television

If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:

"Social media" AND "fake news"

You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.