This guide is intended to help you find both print and online social work resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at rrobinette@astate.edu
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
Recent Circulating Books
-
Rural social work in the 21st century
by
Call Number: HV67 .D35 2016ISBN: 9780190615567Publication Date: 2016 -
Clinical assessment and diagnosis in social work practice
by
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 C72 2016ISBN: 9780190211011Publication Date: 2016 -
Paradoxes in social work practice : mitigating ethical trespass
by
Call Number: HV41 .W367 2016ISBN: 9781472431097Publication Date: 2016
Research Databases
Research databases are the most effective way to search the academic journal literature.
To view all our databases, click here.
-
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=afh
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
-
PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
-
Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
-
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=swh
Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for social work begins with “H”. The basic breakdown is as follows:
|
H1 - H99 |
- |
Social Sciences (General) |
|
HM401 - HM1281 |
- |
Sociology (General) |
|
HN1 - HN995 |
- |
Social History and Conditions. |
|
HQ1 - HQ2044 |
- |
Family, Marriage, Women |
|
HT51 - HT1595 |
- |
Communities, Classes, Races |
|
HV1 - HV9960 |
- |
Social Pathology, Social and |
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item. For example: Social Work : A Companion to Learning (HV245. S622 2007) is about social work as a whole while Social Work with Latinos (HV3187. A2 D444 2007) is specifically about working with Latinos.
Occasionally, a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than just social work and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For example: Dementia and Social Work Practice has been assigned the call number RC521. D45338 2007 because this book is more about dementia patients than social work. That said, this may still be an excellent book for your topic!
(870) 972-3077|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
Social work covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- Abuse
- Case Studies
- Children
- Confidentiality
- Cross-Culture
- Domestic Violence
- Ethics
- Evaluation
- Family
- Grief
- Group Therapy
- LGBTQ
- Licensure
- Marriage
- Methodology
- Minorities
- Neglect
- Play Therapy
- School Based
- Services
- Social Conditions
- Social Service
- Social Welfare
- Social Work
- Theory
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
refugees AND "social work"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
