Access & Delivery Services

• 30 day loan period for most books.
• 3 day grace period beyond the due date before fines are assessed.
• Undergraduate students may borrow a maximum of 20 items at any given time.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. However, a hold will be placed on all accounts with late materials, which may cause a borrower to be blocked from checking out items, registering for classes, or getting transcripts. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned.

• 45 day loan period
• Graduate students may borrow a maximum of 40 items at a time.
• 3 day grace period beyond the due date before fines are assessed.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. However, a hold will be placed on all accounts with late materials, which may cause a borrower to be blocked from checking out items, registering for classes, or getting transcripts. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned.

A-State Staff Grade 114 and Below

• 30 day loan period for most books.
• 3 day grace period beyond the due date before fines are assessed.
• Undergraduate students may borrow a maximum of 20 items at any given time.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned. When leaving or retiring for the university, staff must return all materials borrowed from the Library and must pay any accumulated Library fees.

A-State Staff Grade 115 and Higher

• End of current semester due date for most books.
• 3 day grace period beyond the due date before fines are assessed.
• May borrow a maximum of 25 items at any given time.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned. When leaving or retiring for the university, staff must return all materials borrowed from the Library and must pay any accumulated Library fees.

Retired Staff

• Must present a valid state issued photo ID.
• Policies are identical to those for Community Borrowers.

• A faculty member may send a GA to the Library to borrow materials, but they must have the faculty member's A-State ID card with them each time they borrow materials on behalf of the faculty member.
• End of current semester due date for most books.
• May have a maximum of 50 items checked out at any given time.
• Periodicals are loaned to A-State faculty on an overnight basis only.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned. When leaving or retiring for the university, staff must return all materials borrowed from the Library and must pay any accumulated Library fees.

Retired A-State Faculty

• Must present a valid state issued photo ID.
• Policies are identical to those for Community Borrowers.

Emeritus A-State Faculty

• Must present a valid state issued photo ID and Emeritus card.
• Must complete a Community Borrowers Application Form online or at the Service Desk before borrowing privileges can be enabled.
• May have a maximum of 10 items checked out at any given time.
• All other policies for Emeritus Faculty are identical to those for current A-State students.

• Must be working on a special project that necessitates a longer loan period.
• May borrow a maximum of 25 items at any given time until the end of the current semester. This status is available only during the fall and spring semesters. The chair of their department must sign a form from Circulation stating that the student is working on a special project.
• 3 day grace period beyond the due date before fines are assessed.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned.

• 30 day loan period for most books.
• 3 day grace period beyond the due date before fines are assessed.
• Library Associates may borrow a maximum of 5 items at any given time.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned.

• Must present a valid state issued photo ID.
• Must complete a Community Borrower's Application Form either online or fill out the paper form and sign it at the Circulation Desk.
• If the application is approved, a Community Borrower Card will be mailed to the applicant. The applicant may not borrow any materials until they receive their Community Borrower's Card.
• If the application is not approved, the applicant will be contacted and given the reason for the denial of borrowing privileges.
• Community borrowers may check out 2 items for a maximum 30 day loan period.
• 3 day grace period beyond the due date before fines are assessed.
• The borrower must be 18 years of age or older.
• There are no late fines for General Collection books. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned.
• A-State Alumni must complete a Community Borrower's Application Form in order to receive borrowing privileges.

Items that were checked out at the Service Desk may be returned at several locations. There is a book drop located at the Service Desk, one book drop located adjacent to the south entrance of the library, a book drop located to the east of the north entrance of the library, and a book drop in the south parking lot next to the bus stop. The outdoor book drops are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

General Collection items may be renewed twice, unless another patron has requested the item(s). Materials must be renewed before the due date. Patron self-renewal is available through the online catalog by logging in and choosing "My Library Account."

Patrons who need a book that is checked out to someone else may stop by the Service Desk with a valid AState ID to place a recall or hold request on that book. When the item has been returned, a notice will be sent out to the person who requested the hold or recall. The book(s) will be held at the Service Desk for 10 days. If they are not picked up by the 10th day, then they will be re-shelved.

All circulating books are subject to recall by another user. When a recall is issued, the original due date is cancelled and a new due date is established. Books that are overdue and that have been recalled are subject to immediate recall fines. Recall fines are $1.00 per day.

Failure to receive a recall notice (due to travel, sabbatical, illness, or problems with mail delivery, for example) does not excuse faculty/staff, students, or other borrowers from paying recall fines. Fines will accrue $1.00 per day until the books have been returned.

There are no late fines for General Collection books. However, a hold will be placed on all accounts with late materials, which may cause a borrower to be blocked from checking out items, registering for classes, or getting transcripts. After items are 90 days past due, there will be a replacement cost including a $10 processing fee assessed for each item that is not returned. If late items are returned between 90 and 180 days past due, any holds and replacement costs will be removed from the borrower's account. Refunds are not available for items returned more than 180 days past the due date. If you return items late, please make sure to let the Service Desk know so we can verify that holds and charges are removed as this is not an automated process.

In order to graduate or withdraw from the University, students must return all materials borrowed from the Library and must pay any accumulated Library fees. Your circulation records at the A-State Library are confidential.

The borrower is responsible for all material checked out on his/her record and should point out any noticeable damage to items before checking them out. Borrowers who return library items that are damaged will be assessed a service charge based on the cost of repairing the item. If the book cannot be repaired, the "Lost Item" replacement charge will apply. Charges will vary and payment is the responsibility of the patron that borrowed the item on his/her ID Card.

If the online catalog shows that an item has not been checked out but the item cannot be located, you may request that the Circulation Department conduct a search for the item. After the item has been located, the user will be notified. Material will be held at the Service Desk for 2 days. If the user has not contacted the Service Desk within the time allowed, then the item will be re-shelved.