AMERICAN LITERATURE GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online American Literature. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at rrobinette@astate.edu
Poll
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
Recent Books
Imagining a great republic : political novels and the idea of America by Call Number: PS374.P6 C76 2018ISBN: 9781538105719Publication Date: 2018
The future is female! : 25 classic science fiction stories by women, from pulp pioneers to Ursula K. Le Guin by Call Number: PS648.S3 F88 2018ISBN: 9781598535808Publication Date: 2018
Rewriting the American Soul: trauma, neuroscience and the contemporary literary imagination by Call Number: PS380 .T45 2018ISBN: 9780415788243Publication Date: 2018
RESEARCH DATABASES
To view the full list of American Literature related databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCitations for language, literature, linguistics and folklore articles and books.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowExtensive compilation of literary commentary. Includes 20th Century Literature Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors Online, and Something about the Author Online
- American Fiction, 1774-1920 This link opens in a new windowMore than 18,000 works of fiction in one place, in a consistent format. Titles up until 1900 are sourced from Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction: A Contribution Towards a Bibliography. Titles after 1900 are sourced from the Library of Congress Shelf List of American Adult Fiction and the Geoffrey D. Smith bibliography
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new windowAddresses, advertising rates and submission info for literature, language, linguistics and folklore periodicals.
- Contemporary Authors Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work. - Something About the Author Online This link opens in a new windowLives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- Book Review Index Plus This link opens in a new windowGuide to book reviews including more than 5 million citations and 630,000 full-text reviews.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The main call number for American Literaturebegins with "PS". The basic breakdown for PS is as follows:
| PS1-PS3626 | - | American Literature (General) |
| PS800-PS893 | - | Colonial Period (17th & 18th Century) |
| PS991-PS3390 | - | 19th Century |
| PS3500-PS3549 | - | 1900-1960 |
| PS3550-3576 | - | 1961-2000 |
| PS3600-3626 | - | 2001-Present |
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: the call number PS266 .A8 represents books about southern literature specifically related to Arkansas, and the call number PS266 .M7 is for books about southern literature of Mississippi. An example of a specific call number for a book entitled Contemporary Arkansas Authors: a Selective Bibliography is PS266 .A8 R29.
Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than American Literature and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For help locating a book, you can always ask a librarian.
|
chat loading...
|
Poll
Middling Librarian at Your Service
