Disaster Strikes! Locating Government Resources to Help During Crisis: Disaster Medicine

The DailyMed database contains 141328 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).

The core purpose of the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) is to develop and provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster and public health emergency preparedness, response, and recovery.

Disaster Lit®: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.

Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

Resources that replace NLM's Toxnet (retired 12/2019).

Features information and links about toxic substances, toxicological profiles and a toxic substances portal.

Information and resources for preparing for and responding to public health emergencies.

Web-based resource enabling first responders and other healthcare providers to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving accidental or terrorist chemical releases. Incorporates HSDB.

This field manual offers mental health and public health professionals information on disaster preparedness and recovery to assist disaster survivors. It describes survivor reactions, at-risk populations, counseling, referrals, and stress prevention and management.

Information for physicians and other health professionals who want to volunteer. Also features a toolkit with guidance documents and difference topics such as hospital surge, mental health and quarantine/isolation.

Provides expert advice and consultation to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on the medical and public health needs of children in disasters.

The National Center for PTSD is dedicated to research and education on trauma and PTSD. We work to assure that the latest research findings help those exposed to trauma.

Features links to OSHA standards and regulations, guidance documents, safety and health guides and other resources for first responders, first receivers, safety officers and health professionals.

Guidance about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during radiological and nuclear emergencies.

Designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.