Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arkansas State University

Government Information: Federal

A short tutorial on finding state and federal information.

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

General     |     Executive Branch     |     Legislative Branch     |     Judicial Branch

 

General

  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) - The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Coverage begins with July 1976 and new records are added daily. http://catalog.gpo.gov/F

  • USA.gov - USA.gov is the U.S. Government's official web portal that provides access to over 51 million federal, state, local, and tribal governmental web pages. With USA.gov, it is possible to find information on practically any subject and information is updated on the site daily. For more information about USA.gov and how to use it, view our USA.gov Guide.

  • Science.gov - Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results. Science.gov is a metasearch engine that searches 29 different governmental databases at one time, including AGRICOLA and MEDLINE. http://www.science.gov/

 

Executive Branch

 

Legislative Branch

  • Congress.gov and Thomas are the portal websites from the Library of Congress to finding legislative information including bills, legislative acts, resolutions, and treaties. Eventually, Congress.gov will incorporate Thomas. Until then: Thomas can be found at http://thomas.loc.gov/ and Congress.gov at https://congress.gov/.

  • Visit the Senate's homepage at: http://www.senate.gov

  • Visit the House of Representatives' homepage at: http://www.house.gov

  • Congress Votes Database, from the Washington Post, contains every vote made in the U.S. Congress since 1991: 

  • Congresslink is a resource for teachers providing information about Congress (in Spanish): http://www.congresslink.org/

  • To search for information from Congress including laws, acts, bills, and resolutions search the ProQuest Congressional Database.

 

Judicial Branch