This dictionary, which has over 28,000 entries, can be searched by birth years, death years, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, achievements, and more. Search examples are provided.
Biographies Polysearch Engine
This search engine searches A&E Biography, Academy of American Poets, ArtistDirect, Biographical Dictionary, Chambers Bios, Congressional Directory, Information Please Suite, Internet Movie Database, IOC Olympic Athletes, Nobel Laureates, Pulitzer Winners/Nominees, Science World, White House, Who2, and Women Hall of Fame.
This site provides searchable information taken from The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia. It also includes information presented in the A&E television series Biography. Links to related Web sites for individuals cited in the biography are provided.
Current Biography Excerpts
Contains brief excerpts from the Current Biography database.
A collection of links to biographies of posthumous individuals. Special collections include: African Americans; women; the Holocaust; the Civil War; Australians and New Zealanders; and Latin Americans, Hispanics, and Latinos.
This site from Louisiana State University contains links to the Web sites of a wide variety of authors. Brief biographical information is included.
Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Biographies of African Americans in fields such as biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, inventors, mathematicians, zoology, and more.
Forbes World's Richest People
Brief biographical information and links to the company if applicable.
National Inventors Hall of Fame
Lists information about the inventions and inventors.
Biographical information about Nobel Laureates
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-Present
Gives biographical information; years of service and other political offices held; a brief and an extended bibliography; and references to collections which contain the papers or other information on the subject of the biography.
The database contains information taken from the Biographical Directory of the American Congress (retitled Biographical Directory of the United States Congress) about individuals who have served in the U.S. House or Senate, as Vice President, or in the Continental Congress. The Political Graveyard database can be searched by date of death, circumstances of death, sex, race, age, religion, elected office, awards received, and other distinctive features.
POTUS (Presidents of the United States)
Biographical information about the Presidents and First Ladies compiled by the Internet Public Library. Other facts provided are Presidential election results, cabinet members, religion, occupation, political party, Internet biographies, selected full text historical documents, audio and video files related to the President, and related Internet sites (such as the Presidential Library). Links are provided to Vice Presidential biographies from Grolier Online.
Presidents of the United States of America
Includes information from the books The Living White House, The White House: An Historical Guide, The Presidents of the United States, and The First Ladies, which are published by the White House Historical Association. Brief biographical information, photographs, and links to related Web sites are provided.
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Maintained by students in mathematics classes at Agnes Scott College, in Atlanta, Georgia, to show the achievements of women in the field of mathematics. Most entries include biographical essays or comments; some also include photographs.
Digital Schomburg African American Writers of the 19th Century: Biographies and Autobiographies
This project by New York Public Library contains the full text of biographical and autobiographical materials related to African American women writers of the 19th century. Approximately 52 sources are included.
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
This site has biographies of women from many time periods and ethnic groups. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others.
First Ladies of the United States of America
The White House Historical Association has published The First Ladies which provides extensive biographical information. It also includes references to supplementary manuscript and print sources.
National Women's Hall of Fame
Begun in 1969, the National Women's Hall of Fame provides brief information about its inductees. There is also a search engine to locate individual biographies.
The Spartacus Internet Encyclopedia British History 1700-1920 and
The Emancipation of Women 1750-1920 Biographies
This encyclopedia lists women involved in the emancipation of women in Britain between 1700 and 1920.