Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Biography and Indexes
Biographical indexes can be particularly useful in identifying biographical information from many different sources. They are often a good starting point if you're not finding larger biographical works such as full length books in the library's collection.
Call Number: Z5301 .B5 (index section near literary biography collection in reference)
These reference books cover a wide range of biographical subjects from a broad spectrum of society.
American National Biography by
Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Originally published in 1999, the 24-volume American National Biography provides broad coverage of notable figures in American history from the earliest recorded contact of Europeans in North America to the near present.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography 2001-2004 by
Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000, from the ancient (explorer Pytheas of the 4th Century BC) to the modern (Princess Diana)
Call Number: DA28 .W6
There are numerous Who's who books, any of which may be integral in your search for biographical information. Search the catalog or browse the reference collection for additional titles. Regularly updated.
The library has an excellent collection of biographical reference works for literary figures. Much of the best literary biography information are found in Gale publications, which you can search via the Literary Index database (link is to database LibGuide).
Call Number: Z1224 .C6 (literary biography collection in reference)
One of the very best sources for biographical information on authors. Be sure to use the index at the back of the most recent volume or, better yet, the Literary Index database to search all Gale literary reference works.
Dictionary of literary biography
Call Number: PS21 .D5 (literary biography collection in reference)
Currently more than 350 volumes in this definitive literary biography reference work. Indexed in the Literary Index database.
Encyclopedia of British writers
Call Number: PR451 .E55 2003 (in reference collection)
Profiles, and serves as a critical reading guide to, some 800 British writers of diverse genres and subjects.
Something about the author
Call Number: PN451 .S6 (literary biography collection in reference)
The best biographical source for children's authors and illustrators.
Other Biographical Reference Books
Black women in America by
Call Number: E185.86 .B542 2005
Three-volume reference is vibrant with stories of remarkable women--325 biographies--and discussion of topics pertaining to arts, culture, family, gender, law, occupations, politics, religion, science, and sports
There are numerous other reference books for biography. This list does not pretend to be all-encompassing. Remember, even if "biography" isn't specifically stated in the title, it may still contain information on notable figures related to the book's subject.
, English & Literature
, Health, Physical Education and Sports Sciences
, Humanities & Social Sciences
, Information Literacy
, News and Newspapers
, Primary Sources
, Psychology and Counseling