Skip to Main Content

Newbery Award & Honor Winners: About

List of Newbery Winners/Honors and their call numbers. All titles are located on the 2nd floor of the Library.

About the John Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

How the Newbery Medal Came to Be

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. Additional information about the award can be found here.

Giving Credit Where Credit is Due

"ALA | Home," American Library Association, .

(Accessed July 21, 2011)