Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arkansas Arts Council
The Arkansas Arts Council, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, advances and empowers the arts by providing services and funding for programming that encourages and assists literary, performing and visual artists in achieving standards of professional excellence. The Arkansas Arts Council also provides technical and financial assistance to Arkansas arts organizations and other providers of cultural and educational programs.
The Division of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) was created in 1975 to preserve and promote Arkansas’s natural and cultural heritage as a source of pride and enjoyment for all.
Arkansas Historical Quarterly
Official journal of the Arkansas Historical Association
Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program identifies, evaluates, registers, and preserves the state’s historic and cultural resources and seeks to instill a preservation ethic in future generations of Arkansans. The agency also houses the Main Street Arkansas program, which works with local communities to revitalize downtown commercial areas.
Arkansas Humanities Council
The purpose of the Arkansas Humanities Council is to promote understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. To achieve its purpose, the council awards through a competitive process to nonprofit groups and organizations that allow them to plan and conduct projects in the humanities for Arkansas audiences.
Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission
Since 1973, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission (ANHC) has been working to conserve Arkansas’s natural landscape through various field surveys. These surveys and research projects have provided a wealth of information on more than 900 rare species that can be used to evaluate the relative imperilment of native species and shared for environmental planning purposes. Our goal is to provide an introduction to the natural treasures that are the heritage of every citizen in Arkansas.
Arkansas Review: A Journal of Delta Studies
Interdisciplinary in scope and aimed at a general academic audience, we welcome scholarly contributions from all the humanities and social sciences, including anthropology, art history, cultural studies, folklore studies, history, literature, musicology, political science, and sociology. We also publish creative material—fiction, poetry, essays, and visual art—that evokes or responds to the Delta cultural and natural experience.
Arkansas State Archives
The Arkansas State Archives' mission is to keep and care for the official archives of the State of Arkansas; collect material bearing on the history of Arkansas from the earliest times; copy and edit official records and other historical material; and encourage historical work and research by the public.
Arkansas State University Heritage Sites
The Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Office develops and operates historic properties of regional and national significance in the Arkansas Delta. These sites provide educational resources for formal and informal learning, including serving as living laboratories for students in the university’s Heritage Studies Ph.D. program.
Butler Center for Arkansas Studies
The Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, a department of the Central Arkansas Library System (CALS), was created to promote a greater understanding and appreciation of Arkansas history, literature, art, and culture. The digital collection features more than 10 million documents for public use.
Encyclopedia of Arkansas
The CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas is a free, authoritative source of information about the rich history, geography, and culture of Arkansas. It is updated regularly to ensure the people of Arkansas have an accurate and accessible resource to explore our heritage.
Heritage of Mississippi Series
The Heritage of Mississippi Series, published jointly by MDAH, the Mississippi Historical Society, and the University Press of Mississippi, with funding assistance from the Phil Hardin Foundation, will cover the history of the state in fifteen volumes as part of the celebration of Mississippi’s bicentennial.
The Journal of Mississippi History
Since 1939 The Journal of Mississippi History has been publishing lively and engaging articles by distinguished scholars on the history of the state. The journal is published by the Mississippi Department of Archives and History in cooperation with the Mississippi Historical Society.
Mississippi Department of Archives and History
The Mississippi Department of Archives and History was founded in 1902 to collect, preserve, and provide access to the archival resources of the state.
Mississippi History Newsletter
A Publication of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History
Mississippi History Now
Launched in 2000, Mississippi History Now has appeal for the history lover, the student, and for the general reader with a lively curiosity. History teachers will welcome the lesson plans that accompany each essay.
Mississippi Humanities Council
The Mississippi Humanities Council creates opportunities for Mississippians to learn about themselves and the larger world and enriches communities through civil conversations about our history and culture.
Disagree with what we have included? Are we missing something?
It would impossible to include everything on the Arkansas and Mississippi Deltas and this guide is by no means a complete list. We wanted to create a guide to be used by everyone, not just scholars, and we wanted the information included to be as current as possible. For books, we have focused on publications from the last 20 or so years and that are readily available through libraries or stores. For our directories, we have focused on places and organizations that have an active online presence. If you'd like to make a suggestion, you can fill out our suggestion form.