A note on research databases
Below is a non-exhaustive list of research databases available via the library. By searching these databases, you can find relevant Psychological literature on your topic. The premier Psychology database is PsychINFO, which is listed first. Note that not all of the databases listed are exclusive to Psychology. In some cases, Psychology can go beyond the social sciences, as you can see in the inclusion of a medical database such as PubMed. When attempting to conduct a complete review of all the relevant literature on a topic, it is typically a good idea to search many different databases.
Research methods books
APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology by Call Number: BF76.5 .A73 2012 (Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2012
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by Call Number: BF76.5 .W55 2013Publication Date: 2013
Research Databases
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowLinks over 175,000 pages of reference content with advanced search and discovery tools.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of biomedical citations and abstracts for over 30 million articles. PubMed includes the entire MEDLINE database, which is the journal citation database of the National Library of Medicine. PubMed also includes other citations, such as "In-process" citations, "Ahead of Print" citations, and citations for books and book chapters. PubMed doesn't have full-text articles, but instead provides links to publishers' websites or PMC for access.
- MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
