Hip Hop Culture & History Books
-
-
-
-
I am hip-hop : conversations on the music and culture
by
Call Number: ML394 .R387 2011ISBN: 9780810877917Publication Date: 2011 -
The hip hop wars : what we talk about when we talk about hip hop--and why it matters
by
Call Number: HN59.2 .R68 2008ISBN: 9780465008971Publication Date: 2008 -
Check the Technique: liner notes for hip-hop junkies
by
Call Number: ML3531 .C65 2007ISBN: 9780812977752Publication Date: 2007
Databases
Searching library databases is often the most efficient way to locate many resources, most notably scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, and articles from popular magazines.
Some of these databases provide the full text of the articles, while others provide only citations and/or abstracts.All are accessed by clicking on the “Library Databases” link from the library homepage
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFeatures hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
-
Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
-
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations for language, literature, linguistics and folklore articles and books.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=mzh -
Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers every aspect of classical and popular music. In addition to newly added full-text journals, it includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=mft -
Music Online: Listening (includes American Music, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library) This link opens in a new windowcombines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
Scholarly Journals and other periodicals (newspapers, magazines, etc.)
Some selected scholarly journals
Books about Creating Hip Hop Music
-
-
The beattips manual : beatmaking, the hip hop/rap music tradition, and the common composer
by
Call Number: ML3795 .S225 2009ISBN: 9780974970455Publication Date: 2009 -
How to rap : the art and science of the hip-hop MC
by
Call Number: MT67 .E38 2009ISBN: 9781556528163Publication Date: 2009 -
The dead emcee scrolls : the lost teachings of hip-hop and connected writings
by
Call Number: PS3573.I455457 D43 2006ISBN: 9781416516323Publication Date: 2006
