This guide is intended to help you find both print and online historic preservation resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, April Sheppard, at asheppard@astate.edu.
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call numbers for historic preservation are spread throughout the library. Here are some of the main areas you will find books:
| CC135 - CC137 | - | Preservation, restoration, and conservation of antiquities |
| E159 | - | Historic Preservation (United States) |
| K4310 | - | Historic preservation--Law and legislation |
| NA105 - NA108 | - | Architecture and Buildings. Preservation and Restoration |
Call numbers reflect the subject of the book, for example: Place, race, and story : essays on the past and future of historic preservation (E159 .K38 2009) vs. Historic preservation for a living city : Historic Charleston Foundation, 1947-1997 (F279.C447 W49 2000). The first book with an "E" call number is about the United States in general while the second book with the "F" call number is specifically about Charleston, South Carolina.
Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. For example, Restoring women's history through historic preservation has a call number of HQ1410 .R47 2003. This means this book is more about women than historic preservation and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. This does not mean that it wouldn't be a great book for your topic!
DATABASES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view all our History databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription that delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- AP Archives: Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications and more. - Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM. - Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
- History (search all ProQuest History databases simultaneously) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all of the ProQuest History collections using this one subject-specific search. Databases include American Periodicals; Colonial State Papers; News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive; Civil War Era; Historical Newspapers; Periodicals Archive Online; and much more. - The HistoryMakers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American oral histories - preserving and sharing the life stories of thousands of African Americans, from President Barack Obama to the oldest living black cowboy to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide. - History Vault This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: NAACP Papers, Slavery and the Law, and Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War, and Confederate Military Manuscripts; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; and, American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975); Southern Life and African American History, Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights, Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 350 digital collections from the Library of Congress. Primary source materials, maps & photographs, letters, diaries, sound recordings, and historic films. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
(870) 972-3077|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
Historic preservation covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- Antiquities
- Case Studies
- Conservation
- Culture
- Equipment
- Film
- Heritage
- Historic
- History
- Memory
- Oral
- Paper
- Photos
- Preservation
- Protection
- Restoration
- Sites
- Techniques
- Tools
- Video
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
Prevervation AND "historic sites"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
