This guide is intended to help you find both print and online media resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, April Sheppard, at asheppard@astate.edu.
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The main call numbers for media begins with "P". The basic breakdown is as follows:
| HE8689 - HE8700.95 | - | Radio and Television Broadcasting | ||
| P1 - P1091 | - | Philology and Linguistics | ||
| P87 - P96 | - | Communication, Mass Media | ||
| P94.7 | - | Interpersonal Communication | ||
| P95 - P95.6 | - | Oral Communication | ||
| P99.5 - P99.6 | - | Nonverbal Communication | ||
| P301 - P301.5 | - | Rhetoric in Persuasion, Debate | ||
| PN1990 - PN1990.9 | - | Broadcasting | ||
| PN1991 - PN1991.9 | - | Radio Broadcasts | ||
| PN1992 - PN1992.9 | - | Television Broadcasts | ||
| PN4129.15 | - | Public Speaking | ||
| PN4699 - PN5650 | - | Journalism | ||
| TK5101 - 6720 | - | Telecommunication. Including Radio and TV. |
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: Mass Communication (P90. D44185 2010) vs. Telecommunications - Radio (TK5741. M72 1934).
Occasionally a totally different call number will appear: Mass Media Law (Kf2750. C35 2018). This means that this item is about more about law than media and importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned - but that doesn't mean this isn't a good book for your topic!
DATABASES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view all our Communication databases, click here.
To view all our Newspaper databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription that delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- AP Archives: Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications and more. - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowBibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century.
- Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of communications journals. Contains over 254,000 abstracts and over 330 titles.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowOriginal, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage from 1991 to Present.
- Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Culture, communications, business, travel and maps from 175 countries. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Information on social issues, viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text.
(870) 972-3077|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
Media covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- Advertising
- Audience
- Broadcasting
- Communication
- Copyright
- Digital
- Ethics
- Free Press
- Graphics
- International
- Internet
- Journalism
- Marketing
- Mass Media
- News
- Public Relations
- Radio
- Regulation
- Reporting
- Technology
- Telecommunication
- Television
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
"Mass media" AND "public relations"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
