Skip to Main Content
Arkansas State University

Clinical Laboratory Sciences: Home

This guide is intended to provide basic information resources on Clinical Laboratory Sciences.

This guide is intended to help you find both print and online clinical laboratory sciences resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at rrobinette@astate.edu

 
         Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
 
       
     Book Icon   Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
 

 
Enter your search:



 
   

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

DATABASES

Databases with green All Full Text or partially green Partial Full Text icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.

To view all our Nursing and Allied Health databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The main call number for clinical laboratory sciences begins with either "Q" or "R". The basic breakdown is as follows:

QM 550 - QM 577.8 - Human and comparative histology
QR1 - QR74.5 - Microbiology - General
QR180 - QR189.5 - Microbiology - Immunology
QR355 - QR502 - Microbiology - Virology
R855 - R855.5 - Medical technology
RA428 - RA428.5 - Public health laboratories, institutes, etc.
RB24 - RB33 - Pathological anatomy and histology
RB37 - RB56.5 - Clinical pathology. Laboratory technique
RB127 - RB150 - Pathology - Manifestations of disease
RS189 - RS190 - Materia medica - Assay methods.
Standardization. Analysis


The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: RB38.25 .H83 2010, A Concise Review of Clinical Laboratory Science, is a general book on medical laboratory technology while the call number RB145 .C26 2009, Clinical Hematology Atlas, is much more specific within the subject.

Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than clinical laboratory sciences and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.  For example, Legal Guidelines for the Clinical Laboratory has a call number of KF3826.L3 L43 because it has to do more with law than Clinical Laboratory Sciences - but that doesn't mean it's not a great book for you to use!

CONTACT US

Email Icon  library@astate.edu

   (870) 972-3077

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

Clinical Laboratory Sciences cover a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:

  • Calculations
  • Certification
  • Chemistry
  • Clinical Laboratory
  • Diagnosis
  • Disorders
  • Equipment
  • Laboratory
  • Measurements
  • Methods
  • Medicine
  • Microbiology
  • Nursing
  • Phlebonomy
  • Procedures
  • Quality
  • Safety
  • Techniques
  • Tests
  • Toxicology

If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:

Phlebotomy AND equipment

You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.

Staff Login - LibApps