Sensitive Content
Archival Content
The content available in ARCH from the Archives & Special Collections was primarily created prior to the year 2000. Many oral histories describe life in the early to mid-20th century (1900-1950). These collections were recorded to capture their moment in time and the views, opinions, or recollections of the interviewees. As such, we present these as historical records with as little alteration as possible. The views, opinions, and beliefs expressed within these materials are solely of the individuals depicted. (Right: KAIT original news reels in the archives)
Throughout the various audio/visual collections you will find the following disclaimer.
Content Warning: This material is a product of its time, and may contain elements that are considered offensive, discriminatory, or simply outmoded by today's standards. We strive to represent historical items accurately with verbatim transcription or captions, and fidelity to the original creator.
Certain items may include a more detailed warning depending on the nature of the sensitive material.
Transcripts and Captions
In order to maintain a high level of accuracy and fidelity to the original narrator/speaker, all transcripts and captions were carefully prepared following the guidelines outlined in the Baylor University Institute for Oral History Style Guide.
Supplemental guidance was drawn from the Jackson State University’s Margaret Walker Center Oral History Transcription Style Guide.
Annotations
While reading a transcript, you may encounter information held within brackets. These are annotations or clarifications added by an editor to assist with understanding the meaning of the speaker. Occasionally, a factual correction may be included.
Often, you'll encounter "[sic]" within a transcript or captions. Sic stands for sic erat scriptum [thus it was written]. This annotation indicates when a statement is shown exactly as it was in the original record. For example, "I knowed[sic] it was the truth."
Corrections
If you encounter discrepancies or sensitive material that doesn't have a warning, please alert either the ARCH Librarian or the Archives & Special Collections unit.
