This guide is intended to help you find both print and online art resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, April Sheppard, at asheppard@astate.edu.
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The main call number for art begins with "N". The basic breakdown is as follows:
| BH1 – 301 | - | Aesthetics | ||
| N1 – N9211 | - | Visual Arts (General) | ||
| NA1 – NA9428 | - | Architecture | ||
| NB1 – NB1952 | - | Sculpture | ||
| NC1 – NC1940 | - | Graphic Arts (Drawing, Design, Illustration) | ||
| ND25 – ND3416 | - | Painting | ||
| NE1 – NE3002 | - | Print Media | ||
| NK1 – NK9990 | - | Decorative and Applied Arts | ||
| NX1 – NX820 | - | Arts in General | ||
| TR1 - 1050 | - | Photography (General) | ||
| TT1 – TT820 | - | Handcrafts, Arts and Crafts | ||
| Z43 – 45 | - | Calligraphy and Penmanship |
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: Neorealism in Visual Arts (N6494 .P6) vs. Naturalism in Visual Arts (N6494 .N34).
Occasionally, a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than art and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For example, Art rules : Pierre Bourdieu and the Visual Arts has a call number of BH39 .G677 2007 because it has to do more with philosophy than art - but that doesn't mean it's not a great book for you to use!
DATABASES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view all our Fine Arts databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 1-5: 1691-1877 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Print culture dating from 1691 through 1877. Search all 5 AAS series simultaneously. Contains illustrations and ads. - Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM. - Credo Reference (includes Credo Literati) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
A library teaching tool and online research platform that provides top quality reference sources paired with point-of-need instruction. - Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowEducation database with a strong collection of full-text articles.
- Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
- Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. Although the Index of Medieval Art was formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, it now includes secular subjects as well as a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMassive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 350 digital collections from the Library of Congress. Primary source materials, maps & photographs, letters, diaries, sound recordings, and historic films. - Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowArchive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles. - JSTOR Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more. - JSTOR Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
(870) 972-3077|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
Art covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- Art
- Art Deco
- Art History
- Bauhaus
- Ceramics
- Design
- Drawing
- Graphic Design
- Modern Art
- Painting
- Photography
- Printmaking
- Renaissance
- Sculpture
- Visual Arts
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
Bauhaus AND "graphic design"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
