NEWSPAPER GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online newspaper resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Sherry Eskridge, at seskridge@astate.edu
SEARCH ONESEARCH
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
SEARCH OUR CATALOG
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
NEWSPAPER DATABESES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view all our Newspaper databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources including the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Jonesboro Sun, and Commercial Appeal.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
America's historical newspapers including African American newspapers. - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collections including the New York Times 1851-2003, Wall Street Journal 1889-1989, Atlanta Constitution 1868-1929, Atlanta Daily World, Washington Post, Chicago Defender, NY Amsterdam News, St. Louis Post Dispatch 1924-2003, Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1917 - 2013). - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowRegional U.S. newspapers, International newspapers, newswires, as well as indexing and abstracting for national newspapers.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowOriginal, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage from 1991 to Present.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Information on social issues, viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
INSTRUCTIONS: FINDING AN ARTICLE IN A SPECIFIC NEWSPAPER DATABASE
From the A-State Library's newspaper databases you can access several different newspapers to find events that happened on your birthday. Make sure you select the newspaper publication that has your birth year in it.
* Click the following link, Access World News Research Collection database.
*Scroll down until you see a list of newspapers publications on the right side of the screen.
*Click on the newspaper you would like to use and find a newspaper article on your birthday.
For example,
If I was born January 1, 2005, I could select Arkansas Democrat Gazette, the first source from 1994-Current to find my birthday.
Remember to change the year in the Browse Issues by Date to get the correct year for your birthday.
Once I find my birthday, I would select one of the news articles from the list.
Once you click on the article, you will find this symbol (") to cite your source. Always remember to cite your source and check your style guide for proper formatting rules.
DOUBLE LINES
CONTACT US
(870) 972-307724 HOUR CHAT
|
chat loading...
|
CONTACT YOUR LIBRARIAN
FUN FACTS: FINDING A NEWSPAPER ARTICLE 100 YEARS AGO ON YOUR BIRTHDAYAY
*Go to the library's homepage, Click here
*Next, click on Research Databases on the left side of the screen and then select Historical Newspaper Database from the list.
*Click on advanced Search
*Type in the name of the newspaper publication you want to use. Ex: New York Times or Washington Post or Wall Street Journal to name a few.
*Under publication date, select On this date by clicking on the dropdown arrow.
*Select the month day and 100 years ago from your birth year.
*Select a news article from your list.
*To cite the article click on (")
*Remember to cite your sources and refer to your style guide for correct formatting.
Ex: if I was born January 1, 2005, I could select the New York Times newspaper from January 1, 1905 to find a fun article 100 years ago my birthday.
