Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arkansas State University

Journals Search: Understanding the Results Page

A guide on how to use the Library's Journals Search to find journals and articles.

Results Page

After you have browsed or searched, at the top of each page you wil have the following information and options:

Result Page Options

1. Search bar for new searches
2. "Browse All Journals by Title or Subject" link to start a new browse
3. The middle section contains your number of results and what you are browsing or searching.
4. Here, you have two limiters: Peer Reviewed (scholarly) and Open Access. If you want to limit to either, just click the link. After you've clicked, the limiters you're using will be underlined. To clear the limiter, click the "Clear Filter" link.

 

In addition to the information and limits at the top of the page, each result also gives you a lot of information:

Gothic Studies Example

1. The top portion gives you the title and ISSN for the journal.
2. If the journal is peer reviewed, or scholarly, it will be listed under the ISSN with a neat little graduation hat.
3. The "holdings" section. This section tells you which databases have the journal and what dates they contain. In the example above, there are three databases that provide access to Gothic Studies from 05/01/2004 to 05/31/2014 and three that provide access from 2006-2014. Click on the title of any database to view and search the journal further.
4. Use the "Search Inside This Journal" search bar to search for a particular article or topic within the journal. This is very helpful when there are several different databases that carry the journal and you don't want to visit multiple databases.

 

Hints:

  • Pay very close attention to date ranges. Some journals may be listed in a dozen or more resources, all with different dates. Some databases may carry the journal just for a few months, but they might be the only database that has those months.
  • If multiple database carry the journal during the same date range, like in the example above, it doesn't really matter then which database you click on.
  • Some journals have an "embargo" on them which means that we don't have the very newest content. Embargoes can vary from a month to six years - just depending on the publisher. Embargoes are "moving walls," meaning that it's based on the current date. For example if a journal is listed as "to 3 months ago," then that's 3 months from today. Next week will be 3 months from that week.
    • Note: Some database companies may have special deals with journal publishers. A journal may have an embargo with every resource except one. So pay attention to the dates! There may be one resource that carries the most current issues.
  • Anytime you see the phrase "Arkansas State University Print Holdings," this means that the journal is physically held in the library. Click on the link to see what date ranges we carry.