GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online chemistry resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Dominique Hallett at dhallett@astate.edu
SEARCH ONESEARCH
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
SEARCH OUR CATALOG
 |
Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search: | ||
|
|
|||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for chemistry begins with "QD". The basic breakdown is as follows:
| QD1 - QD65 | - | Chemistry (General) |
| QD71 - QD142 | - | Analytical Chemistry |
| QD146 - QD197 | - | Inorganic Chemistry |
| QD241-441 | - | Organic Chemistry |
| QD241 - QD441 | - | Organic Chemistry |
| QD415-436 | - | Biochemistry |
| QD450-801 | - | Physical and theoretical chemistry |
| QD625-655 | - | Radiation chemistry |
| QD701-731 | - | Photochemistry |
| QD901-999 | - | Crystallography |
The numbers that follow the beginning letters relate to a narrower scope of the subject, for example: consider the subject headings with specific book call numbers, Chemistry (QD31.2 .E22 2008) vs. Environmental Chemistry (TD193 .N49 2007). Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than the environment and higher importance was given to this subject when the call number was assigned..
DOUBLE LINES
DATABASES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with ASU to view the article or on the ASU campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view the full list of Chemistry and related databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
-
Science.gov This link opens in a new windowMetasearch engine and gateway to science-related information published by U.S. government agencies. Searches 29 different governmental databases at one time.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Includes:
Science Citation Index Expanded 1900 to Present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900 to Present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975 to Present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1990 to Present
Book Citation Index 2005 to Present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2005 to Present
Current Chemical Reactions 1985 to Present
Index Chemicus 1993 to Present
Current Contents Connection 1966 to Present
Data Citation Index 1900 to Present
Derwent Innovation Index 1966 to Present
Grants Index 1953 to Present
KCI-Korean Journal Database 1980 to Present
MEDLINE 1950 to Present
Policy Citation Index 1991 to Present
Preprint Citation Index 1991 to Present
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index 1637 to Present
SciELO Citation Index 2002 to Present
A-State users also have access to the Expanded Web of Science Expanded API (2 requests per second, 5,000 requests per day, 100,000 full records per month)
Dominique Hallett
24 HOUR CHAT
|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
WORDS TO USE
Chemistry covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- alchemy
- "atomic mass"
- beryllium
- biochemistry
- "Boyle's law"
- calorimeter
- chemiluminescence
- "Cherenkov radiation"
- "covalent bond"
- darmstadtium
- disproportionation
- electrochemistry
- "electromagnetic radiation"
- fusion
- "glycosidic bond"
- "half-life"
- "Heisenberg uncertainty principle"
- hydrocarbon
- ion
- isotopes
- manometer
- "Mohs scale"
- "nuclear radiation"
- oxidation
- "precipitation reaction"
- reduction
- "scientific method"
- thermodynamics
- viscosity
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
fusion AND "half-life"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
(870) 972-3077
