Skip to main content
Arkansas State University

Children's Literature & Juvenile Collection: Home

This page is intended to help you find Children's Literature sources, book reviews, and to use the Juvenile Collection.

Guide Overview

This guide is intended to help you find children's literature information and book reviews and to give you an overview of the Juvenile Collection. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources.

If you need further assistance, please visit or email the Service Desk in the Library.  Also check out the Education Research Guide for more information.

AWARD WINNERS

For more, see our Caldecott, Newbery, Coretta Scott King and Pura Belpre Guides.

ADULT READERS

These are intended primarily for our English as a Second Language (ESL) students, though anyone may check them out. For more, see our Adult Readers Guide.

THE JUVENILE COLLECTION

             

The Juvenile Collection, located on the third floor of the Library, contains several types of Pre-K through High School level books that are arranged in a number of ways.  The Non-fiction books use the traditional Dewey Decimal System while the Easy (Pre-K - grade 3) and Fiction (grade 4 & up) books are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name.  The Biographies are alphabetical by the person the book is about.

There are two types of call numbers in the Juvenile Collection:

1. Juvenile Collection (mainly fiction)

B – Biography (by subject’s last name)

E – Easy (by author’s last name)

F – Fiction (by author’s last name)

 

Call number example:

E C192g 1996

(Easy; Author; Year)

 

2. Non-Fiction (Dewey Decimal Classification)

The juvenile Non-fiction collection uses the Dewey Decimal System. You may be familiar with this system from your school or local public library. These call numbers all begin with numbers and are arranged by subject:

000
100
200
300
400
500
600
700
800
900
Generalities
Philosophy & Psychology
Religion
Social Sciences
Language
Natural Sciences & Mathematics
Technology (Applied Sciences)
The Arts
Literature & Rhetoric
Geography & History

 

Call number example:       

791.43 .K967b 1998

(Dewey Subject; Author; Year)

       
     Book Icon   Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
 

 
Enter your search:



 
   
Info/Help 870-972-3208
Library Accounts 870-972-3077
     

All other

870-972-3077

 
refdesk@astate.edu

Postal Address:
P.O. Box 2040
State University, AR  72467

chat loading...