Skip to main content
Arkansas State University

Cochrane Library: Home

Guide to using the Cochrane Library database.

What is Cochrane Library?

Cochrane Library is a database comprised of a collection of six databases containing reviews, articles and citations to research in healthcare and related public policy.  It is a leading source for peer reviewed systematic reviews in all areas of healthcare.  It also publishes information on medical trials, mainly pulled from MEDLINE and EMBASE. 
 

Advantage:

Some of the databases within Cochrane Library contain information on more than just healthcare.  Included is material on health technology assessments from around the world including medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions.  Also publications reporting on the methods used in conducting controlled trials including journals, books and conference proceedings.  Cochrane is updated daily and as with many databases you may create a free account where you can save searches and articles, and set search alerts.

 

Disadvantage:

Only some of the database is full-text and the materials contained within Cochrane Library are highly technical and dedicated to the true researcher in the medical field.  A fair amount of what is found outside of the Systematic Reviews section will need to be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.

Remember: Each database is different and sometimes it can be hard or frustrating starting your research. If you ever need help in navigating a certain database, the staff at the Research & Information Desk will gladly help!  Feel free to stop by or give us a call at (870) 972-3208 or email us at refdesk@astate.edu