LibGuides: Costume & Fashion: Home


			Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:


			Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
	Enter your search:

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings.

GR 420 - 426

GT 500 - 2370

NK 4700 - 4890

TT 490 - 695

TT950 - 979

Costume, jewelry

Costume. Dress. Fashion

Costume

Dressmaking. Tailoring

Hairdressing. Beauty culture.

You may notice that the call numbers fall into two categories: the "G's" and the "N's." So, what's the difference? Items with a "G" call number are more everyday fashion and/or fashion design (think runway). Items that are in the "NK" section are specific to fashion and costume design within theatre whereas the "TT" section has to do with the actual manufactoring of clothing. In some cases, you may see call numbers that start with "PN." These are books that have been mixed in with the theatre section.

DATABASES

Databases with green or partially green icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.

To view all our Fine Arts databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 1-5: 1691-1877 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print culture dating from 1691 through 1877. Search all 5 AAS series simultaneously. Contains illustrations and ads.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
An extensive online resource providing high-quality full-length films of leading British theater productions plus interviews with the cast, the creative and production teams behind each show and documentaries on a variety of theater movements and practitioners.
Requires the latest version of Chrome.
Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
JSTOR Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
Includes primary source content from JSTOR collections: World Heritage Sites Africa ; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa ;
World Heritage Sites (Aluka) ; 19th Century British Pamphlets
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 350 digital collections from the Library of Congress. Primary source materials, maps & photographs, letters, diaries, sound recordings, and historic films.
No use restrictions.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 350 digital collections from the Library of Congress. Primary source materials, maps & photographs, letters, diaries, sound recordings, and historic films.
No use restrictions.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 350 digital collections from the Library of Congress. Primary source materials, maps & photographs, letters, diaries, sound recordings, and historic films.
No use restrictions.
Met Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
The Met Opera on Demand Database provides access to nearly 700 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, spanning more than 80 years of broadcast history. Note: 5 simultaneous users at one time can use this resource.
National Theatre I Collection This link opens in a new window
Brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Large, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
Theatre in Video: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history.
Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.

CONTACT US

library@astate.edu

(870) 972-3077

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

Costume and fashion cover a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started: