LibGuides: Medical Imaging & Radiation Sciences: Home


			Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:


			Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
	Enter your search:

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

Research Databases

Databases with green or partially green icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.

To view all our Health Profession databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

Academic Search Elite
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=afh

Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
BioMed Central
Part of PubMed Central family of journals. Additional content specific to biomedicine. Most articles are available for free. Limited articles may be bought for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.

No use restrictions.
CINAHL Ultimate
The definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=cul
Health & Medicine
Search 17 ProQuest databases simultaneously. Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

In-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
Health and Wellness (Gale Health and Wellness)
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=hch
MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=mdl

MEDLINE Ultimate is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1857 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
OvidSP (search multiple Ovid databases simultaneously)
Citations and full-text to scientific, technical and medical journals.
ProQuest Central
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
PubMed Central
Archive of life sciences journal literature.

No use restrictions.
ScienceDirect
World's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
UpToDate
Evidence-based clinical decision support resource, trusted worldwide by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care.
*Note this database requires authentication through our campus EZproxy system for both on-campus users as well as off-campus users.
Wiley Online Library
over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Users accessing Wiley Online Library are subject to Wiley's Terms and Conditions for Use.

Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The general call numbers for Medical Imaging & Radiation Sciences begin with "R". The basic breakdown is as follows:

QM1 - QM695	-	Human anatomy
R855 - R855.5	-	Medical technology
R856 - R857	-	Biomedical engineering. Electronics. Instrumentation
R895 - R920	-	Medical physics. Medical radiology. Nuclear medicine
RA399	-	Regulation of medical practice. Evaluation and quality control of medical care. Medical audit
RA960 - RA1000.5	-	Medical centers. Hospitals
RC71 - RC78.7	-	Examination. Diagnosis including radiography
RM147 - RM180	-	Administration of drugs and other therapeutic agents

The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: the call number Radiographic Imaging and Exposure (RC78 .F33 2009) is a general book on medical imaging, and Diagnostic Imaging for Physical Therapists (RC78.7.D53 S935 2009) is much more specialized.

Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than medical imaging and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned. For example, MRI and CT of the Female Pelvis has a call number of RG107.5.M34 M74 2007 because it has to do more with obstetrics than medical imaging - but that doesn't mean it's not a good book for your topic!

CONTACT US

library@astate.edu

(870) 972-3077

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

Medical imaging and radiation sciences cover a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:

Case Studies
Computers
CT Scan
Diagnosis
Disease
Endoscopy
Equipment
Examination
Image Processing
Intervention
MRI
Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Medical Imaging
Methods
Nuclear Medicine
Pediatric
Procedures
Radiation Safety
Radiography
Radiology
Techniques
Tomography
Ultrasound
X-Ray

If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:

Children AND "nuclear medicine"

You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.