LibGuides: Philosophy: Home

CONTACT US

CONTACT US

library@astate.edu

(870) 972-3077

Poll

Who's cooler?

Analytic philosophers

Continental philosophers

Analytic philosophers: 5 votes (83.33%)

Continental philosophers: 1 votes (16.67%)

Total Votes: 6


			Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
	Enter your search:

RESEARCH DATABASES

To view all our databases, click here.

Arts & Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full-text, scholarly and scientific journals in an independent database containing ca. 12,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

No use restrictions.
Films on Demand History Through Films Collection
Large collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
JSTOR
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
Philosopher's Index
Philosophy, ethics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, aesthetics.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=phl
Project MUSE
Large, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
Academic Search Elite
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=afh

Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest Central
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
Wiley Online Library
over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Users accessing Wiley Online Library are subject to Wiley's Terms and Conditions for Use.

BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The majority of call numbers for Philosophy begin with "B". The basic breakdown is as follows:

B1 - B5802	-	Philosophy (General)
B69 - B99		- General Works
B108 - B708		- Ancient Philosophy
B720 - B765		- Medieval Philosophy
B770 - B785		- Renaissance Philosophy
B790 - B5802		- Modern Philosophy
BC1 - BC199	-	Logic
BD10 - BD701	-	Speculative Philosophy
BD10 - BD41		- General Philosophical Works
BD95 - BD131		- Metaphysics
BD143 - BD237		- Epistemology. Theory of Knowledge.
BD240 - BD260		- Methodology
BD300 - BD450		- Ontology. Including being, the soul, life, death.
BD493 - BD701		- Cosmology. Including space and time, structure of matter.
BH1 - BH301	-	Aesthetics
BJ1 - BJ1750	-	Ethics
BL51 - 65	-	Philosophy of Religion

Occasionally a totally different call number will appear, such as N7477 .U53 Understanding Art Objects : Thinking through the Eye. This means the item is about more than art than it is about aesthetics and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.