It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gifts and Donations to libraries require care and feeding. It's important to look these "gift horses" in the mouth. The acceptance, retention and use of gifts and donations require monitoring and management. We will look at best practices in gift and donation policies for libraries. We will look at ways that libraries can showcase specific needs and increase donations and gifts.
Synchronous online library instruction -- classes delivered live via Zoom, Webex, or other conferencing platforms -- have become much more common in the past year, but most of us never learned in library school how to approach this teaching format. This session will help your live online classes become a little less nerve-wracking: learn how to take advantage of the live online classroom environment, discuss some advantages and limitations compared to the in-person classroom, and how to make the most of your time with students.
Employees and managers are often frustrated with the actions or inactions of people in their organization, and they do not know how to effect the desired changes. During this webinar participants will learn a few tips and techniques that all employees can use to improve communication and decision-making at any level in the organization. The methods presented in this webinar will not be a “cure-all” to improve every conflict, but you will learn some ways to interact more effectively in difficult situations with the employees you manage or supervisors who manage you.
The famous fair use four factors outline the ambit of this right, but there is still uncertainty about how to apply the factors in practice. This uncertainty often leaves cultural institutions with policies that are either overly restrictive, limiting patron services and discouraging new creations, or overly permissive, potentially subjecting the organization to liability.
This class aims to dispel the myths surrounding fair use and empower, enhance, and increase attendees’ confidence when handling the wide array of fair use focused questions and policies.
Infographics are great tools for expressing data and information visually and effectively. Librarians can use infographics in information literacy instruction, to advocate for library services, and to express information to their patrons in a clear and concise manner.
In this course, we will explain why infographics are effective modes of communication. We will analyze different kinds of infographics used by libraries and other fields. Lastly we will examine easy to use resources to create your own infographic.
Over 90% of library funding is politically motivates. That means that almost all of the funding for libraries is dependent on the amount of political influence and power held by the library in the local political ecosystem. There is wide range of tactics that can be used to influence this power, but what are the underlying theories that can be applied to all of the activities performed by a library? From digital tactics like social media, websites, and email to building relationships in the community through partnerships and coalitions, these theories can be applied to every aspect of the library services. In this session we will explore many of these theories used by some of the best community organizers, political action committees, and politicians and discuss how we can apply them to librarianship.
These days, multi-material kits are found in many library collections. From educational activities to test prep, circulating these kits can be a great way for libraries to serve their patrons. Because of the variety of materials found in kits, these non-traditional library items can be particularly challenging to properly catalog. This session will cover many common challenges relating to cataloging kits and offer solutions to these problems.
Cultural heritage institutions enjoy a very special status in the U.S. Copyright Law. Copyright is meant to further the “Progress of Science and the useful Arts,” and Congress has built in specific limitations and exceptions that provide additional flexibility to libraries, archives, museums and other cultural heritage institutions. These limitations and exceptions are what allow us to confidently engage in interlibrary loans, digitization, making copies for blind or print disabled users, teaching with copyrighted materials, displaying objects from our collections, such as artworks, and even lending items from our collections to other institutions. While critical for our work, these specific limitations and exceptions are based on complex statutory language that can be difficult to decipher and apply. This program aims to help participants understand the landscape of copyright limitations and exceptions, and gain the necessary skills to apply those limitations and exceptions for the benefit of their users.
Asynchronous teaching -- delivering instruction via guides, pre-recorded video, message boards and other self-guided on-demand methods -- can be a great way to reach busy students and integrate the librarian into an existing online class. Join us for this session that examines the best ways to take advantage of the asynchronous instructional format, what you need to know about how asynchronous online learning differs from in-person, classroom-based instruction, and tools to help make the most of asynchronous teaching.
It seems there is never enough time to get all the work done. If only there was only one more hour in each day. However, by better managing your time, you can increase your productivity.
In this session, you'll learn how you can use time management principles to increase your productivity and assess the value of your tasks. You'll learn the benefits of setting goals and how productivity is tied to your ability to assess time and set priorities.
This workshop will introduce the most powerful features of OpenRefine using a sample bibliographic dataset. Participants will be encouraged to install the tool on their own computer prior to the workshop, and follow along. We will conclude with a short discussion of use cases: participants are welcome to share examples of datasets from their own work practice that need to be cleaned up and discuss how OpenRefine can help with this process. There are no particular prerequisites for this session. Familiarity with Regular Expressions can be useful in applying more advanced text matching functions, but is not required.
Are you looking for ways to edit your catalog records more efficiently? Transform your library data from one format to another? What about easily detect misspellings and other inaccuracies in your metadata? Your solution is closer than you think: MarcEdit and Open Refine.
These two powerful tools can help you handle all of these issues and make your work easier. Attend this Know & Go session to learn how you can harness their power and work smarter, not harder.
Developed as a non-coder’s guide to exhibit best practices, presentation, and promotion, this course will provide students with an introduction to exhibit building using Omeka; one of the more popular platforms for digital exhibits. We’ll discuss how to craft objective and interpretive text with DEI (diversity, equity, and inclusion) in mind; how to make your audio/visuals engaging; common rights and reproductions issues; and adding elements that draw your patrons in and create a good user experience, like ADA compliant downloadable materials, crowdsourcing applications, and more.
This class will not cover digital collections and exhibits workflows and procedures; a basic understanding of these is required for full participation in this class. People who work at museums, academic libraries, historical societies, and archives, and have a need to create fresh and meaningful digital content for their organizations, will benefit from this class.
This session will demonstrate, through three case studies, how IIIF tools can be used to create engaging online learning experiences. The case studies will demonstrate using collaborative annotating and comparing image-based resources such as maps, manuscripts, artworks, photographs, and more. The tools covered in this session will be especially useful to teachers, librarians, or other people engaged with learning to create engaging online learning experiences.
Stay on trend and build anticipation for your Summer readers of all ages. Join us for an hour of trends and new titles in Summer Reading for your library users. We'll discuss ways to promote Summer Reads and programs through your library.
Instructional videos are a versatile staple of online library learning. In this non-technical session by an experienced instruction librarian, learn the best approaches for designing and creating clear, useful videos for your library learners. We’ll discuss how to apply teaching principles to the video medium, easy techniques for making videos look good without being an expert editor, and how to approach accessibility in video tutorials.
As a librarian you already know that there are numerous tasks that you perform that require professional graphic design skills. You are proud of your work and do a good job but you would like a bit more guidance. In this class, you will learn what the professionals know about creating graphic designs.
This two-hour webinar introduces participants to design thinking through the exploration of a process that begins with an empathic approach to problem finding that leads to a thoughtful solution. Attendees will gain familiarity with the different phases of the design thinking process through examples of how they are applied in a library environment. While there are other methods leading to decisions for making libraries better, design thinking lends itself to staff engagement opportunities for collaborative problem finding and solving.
This course is designed to work with copyright concepts introduced in the previous four copyright courses offered by LYRASIS and the Virtual Copyright Education Center in Spring 2021, so that students can take a strategic approach when integrating copyright practices into the operations and policies of their respective museums, libraries, and archives. In particular, students will learn to devise and implement rights data management and copyright assessment protocols to better mitigate risks and identify opportunities when working with collections in the online environment; develop or integrate copyright policies in collections management and preservation activities; and find potential access solutions to the digital dissemination of collections materials based on their expertise in collections management, preservation, and their newly developed copyright literacy skills.
This class will provide a broad overview of quantitative methods and the focus will be on understanding terminology and concepts used by quantitative researchers. We’ll discuss some of the most commonly used statistical tests, outlining the types of research questions they address and the basic mechanics of the tests. T-test, correlation, chi-square test of independence and regression will be briefly explained. Along the way we’ll touch upon variables, level of analysis and the role of theory in quantitative methodology. This course is accessible to those without a math background as it focuses on providing a broad overview of quantitative methods concepts.
When it comes to cataloging and classification, consistency obtained through standards is important. That does not mean you have to be at the mercy of the national standards. This presentation will cover many ways in which you can adapt catalog records to make sure they work for your library users – from homegrown classification systems to local subject headings – and offer tips to make sure these practices still provide the consistency needed in a good catalog.
This class will discuss best practices and current issues in digitizing rare books. The instructor will cover scanning and specialized equipment; post-process and digital authenticity; the need for specific metadata description; and the publication of digital rare book collections. A discussion of common types of rare books and their handling needs, along with third party digitization agreements and donor stipulations, will be included. Finally, we’ll cover how to build dazzling and significant rare book-based digital collections, over time.
This two-part webinar will introduce participants to podcasting, a medium defined by a complex "systems ecosystem" consisting of digital audio files (namely WAVs and MP3s), distribution mechanisms (RSS feeds) and platforms providing services to both podcasters and listeners. In part one of the webinar, PTP will step through the curriculum devised by the PTP team, briefly go over the history of the development of podcast technology, and "prove" that some of the earliest podcasts have, in fact, disappeared. Part two will focus on RSS technology and how PTP devised their own homegrown mechanism to preserve their own podcast and website beyond their grant funding. We will end with providing some examples of current institutional podcast collecting efforts, and discuss how participants might envision incorporating elements of the PTP curriculum into what they do at their respective GLAM institution or organization.
This class will review several freely available tools that can help you test a website’s adherence to accessibility standards. The tools can help you test content you are considering for your institution, or resources that you already provide but want to improve either internally or through advocating for improved accessibility. We will also review common standards and best practices that are used to evaluate online content.
This class is designed to provide librarians with a foundational understanding of instructional design concepts that can put them on a path for creating effective online instructional experiences. The session will include an introduction to the instructional design process, followed by a sample workflow for creating an online learning object. Attendees are encouraged to come with a specific instruction need in mind that they can use to practice with the process. Although this topic is particularly salient for academic librarians who teach online, the content can be applicable to any librarian who develops online materials to help patrons effectively and independently navigate library resources.
Disaster can strike at any time in any locale, disrupting operations, threatening human safety, and damaging or destroying collections. Having a plan in place before disaster strikes makes good business sense; institutions that view emergency management as critical and provide staff with the authority and tools to plan will ultimately respond more successfully than those that have not prepared. This class is an overview of different steps that cultural heritage institutions can take to be better prepared for a disaster of any size. The sessions cover risk assessment and mitigation, creating a disaster plan, collections salvage procedures, techniques for training staff, and touches on creating emergency response networks.
Authority control – the process of ensuring that all access points in a library catalog are used consistently – can be a great help to patrons using the catalog. But it also can be confusing for librarians who are not familiar with it. Free for members, this session covers the basic principles of authority control, how to implement it in your catalog, and the value that it brings to library users.