It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Education: Home
Use this guide to find Special Education resources in the library.
SPECIAL EDUCATION GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online special education resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at firstname.lastname@example.org
Meticulously planned and researched lessons: 1 votes (10%)
Haphazard, frantically thrown together messes: 9 votes (90%)
Total Votes: 10
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
Index of hundreds of teaching, education, curriculum dev. titles.
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Research on accounting, auto mechanics, building trades, computing science, graphic design, healthcare, photography, sales and retail & more in the Vo-Tech curriculum for both students and instructors.
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for education begins with "L". The basic breakdown is as follows:
L7 - L991
LA5 - LA2396
History of Education
LB5 - LB3640
Theory and Practice of Education
LC8 - LC6691
Special Aspects of Education
LD13 - LD7501
Individual Institutions; United States
LE3 - LE78
Individual Institutions; America, except United States
LF14 - LF5477
Individual Institutions; Europe
LG21 - LG961
Individual Institutions; Asia. Africa. Oceania
LH1 - LH9
College and School Magazines and Papers
LJ3 - LJ75
Student Fraternities and Societies, United States
LT6 - LT501
The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower subject of the item. For example, a book about teaching children with ADHD would begin with the call number LC4713, while a book about distance learning would begin with LC5803.
Occasionally a very different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than education, and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.