Children's Review Journals
Some journals specialize in reviewing children's books. Click on the following links to see how we have access to these journals and what date ranges.
- BooklistProvides a guide to current print and nonprint materials worthy of consideration for purchase by small and medium-sized public libraries and school library media centers.
- Bulletin of the Center for Children's BooksProvides concise summaries and critical evaluations of current children's books.
- Horn Book MagazineIncludes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.
- Kirkus ReviewsPublishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books.
- Publishers WeeklyOffers feature articles and news on all aspects of the book business, bestsellers lists in a number of categories, and industry statistics, but its best known service is pre-publication book reviews, publishing some 9,000 per year.
- School Library JournalThe most complete provider of news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries.
These databases are specifically for finding book reviews for all types of books.
All of the databases open to the Basic Search by default, so you will want to click on Advanced Search before beginning your search, as that will give you more options and control.
- Book Review Index Plus This link opens in a new windowGuide to book reviews including more than 5 million citations and 630,000 full-text reviews.
- NoveList K-8 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Introduce both teachers and students to new books, and encourage independent reading and help students think about why a particular story appeals to them.
There are a number of other "regular" databases that contain book reviews along with articles and other content.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowEducation full-text database designed for education students, professionals, and policymakers, covering all levels of education and specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. Includes ABI/Inform and Hoover's Company Profiles.
- ProQuest Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research on accounting, auto mechanics, building trades, computing science, graphic design, healthcare, photography, sales and retail & more in the Vo-Tech curriculum for both students and instructors. - Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of hundreds of teaching, education, curriculum dev. titles.
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. - TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books.
