LibGuides: Computer Science: Home

SEARCH ONESEARCH


			Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:

SEARCH OUR CATALOG


			Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
	Enter your search:

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for computer science begins with "QA". The basic breakdown is as follows:

QA75 – QA76.95	-	Calculating Machines
QA75.6 – QA76.95	-	Electronic Computers, Computer Science
QA76.75 – QA76.765	-	Computer Software
TK5101 – TK6720	-	Telecommunications; including Telegraphy, Telephone, Radio, Radar, Television
TK7885 – TK7895	-	Computer Engineering, Computer Hardware

The numbers that follow the beginning letters relate to a narrower focus of the subject. For example, TK7885 – TK7895 represent books about computer engineering and hardware. Within these subjects is Microelectronic Design of Fuzzy Logic-Based Systems with a call number of TK7888.3 .M535 2000.

Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than computer science and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.

DATABASES

Databases with green or partially green icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with ASU to view the article or on the ASU campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.

To view the full list of Computer Science and related databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery.
Computer Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Search 16 science and technology databases.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
World's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
STEM Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
STEM database is comprised of more than 500 scholarly journals and popular science magazines. These publications support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math. All coverage is front-to-back full-text, with images and graphics reproduced exactly as they appear in the original editions.
Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text.
Computer applications, Data communications and data transmission systems, Electronic data processing, Information science and information theory, Radio and television

Dominique Hallett

Email Me

Contact:

Rm 227
Dean B. Ellis Library
870-972-2962

Subjects: Agriculture, Computer Science, Databases, Engineering, Faculty, General, Government Information, Information Literacy, Law & Criminal Justice, News and Newspapers, Primary Sources, Research, Science & Mathematics

24 HOUR CHAT

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

Computer Science covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started: