CRIMINAL JUSTICE & CRIMINOLOGY GUIDE
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online Criminology sources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at rrobinette@astate.edu
Poll
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
Recent Books
Nobody's victim : fighting psychos, stalkers, pervs, and trolls by Call Number: KF373.G59 A3 2019ISBN: 9780525533771Publication Date: 2019
Open season : legalized genocide of colored people by Call Number: HV9950 .C79 2019ISBN: 9780062375094Publication Date: 2019
Practical equality : forging justice in a divided nation by Call Number: KF4764 .T73 2019ISBN: 9780393652024Publication Date: 2019
DATABASES
To view the full list of Criminal Justice & Criminology related databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers essential areas relating to criminal justice and criminology.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new windowOpen Access database covering criminal and juvenile justice, drug control, law enforcement.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. - Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text for nearly 250 of the most respected, scholarly law journals.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowMostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- USA.gov This link opens in a new windowU.S. Government's official web portal that provides access to over 51 million federal, state, local and tribal governmental web pages.
- Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of academic, embeddable videos. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMassive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowover 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY
All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The call number for criminal justice begins with "HV". The basic breakdown is as follows:
| HV6001 - 7220.2 | - | Criminology | |
| HV6035 - 6197 | - | Criminal Anthropology | |
| HV6201 - 6249 | - | Criminal Classes | |
| HV6250 - 6250.4 | - | Victims of Crimes | |
| HV6251 - 6773.55 | - | Crimes and Offenses | |
| HV6774 - 7220.5 | - | Crimes and Criminal Classes | |
| HV7231 - 9960 | - | Criminal Justice Administration | |
| HV7935 - 8025 | - | Administrative and Organizations | |
| HV8081 - 8099 | - | Private Detectives | |
| HV8301 - 9920.7 | - | Penology, Prisons, Corrections | |
| HV9051 - 9230.7 | - | The Juvenile Offender | |
| HV9261 - 9430.7 | - | Reformation and Reclamation of Adult Prisoners | |
| HV9950 - 9960 | - | By Region or Country |
The numbers that follow the beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the subject, for example: HV8081-8099 represents books about private detectives within the general subject area of criminal justice. An example of a specific call number for a book entitled Quantitative Studies in Criminology is HV6018. Q36.
Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than criminal justice and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.
|
chat loading...
|
