LibGuides: History: Home

Poll

Do you prefer print or ebooks?

The tactile nature of delicate vellum pages titillates me.

I AM AN AUTOMATON. FEED ME DIGITAL DATA.

The tactile nature of delicate vellum pages titillates me.: 6 votes (37.5%)

I AM AN AUTOMATON. FEED ME DIGITAL DATA.: 10 votes (62.5%)

Total Votes: 16

Historical Societies

Arkansas Historical Association
Arkansas County Historical Societies
Some county links have expired but most are active.
Directory of Preservation Organizations & Historical Societies
This is by far the best resource to find historic societies throughout the United States.
Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
Quapaw Quarter Association

BOOKS IN THE DEAN B. ELLIS LIBRARY

All books in the library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification system for call numbers and subject headings. The main call numbers for history begin with “D, E, & F”. The basic breakdown is as follows:

CB3 – CB482	-	History of Civilization
CT21 – CT9999	-	Biography
D1 – DT2009	-	History (General)
DA1 – DA995	-	Great Britain
DC1 – DC947	-	France
DD1 – DD905	-	Germany
DK1 – DK949.5	-	Russia
DS1 – DS937	-	Asia
DT1 – DT3415	-	Africa
E151 – E889	-	United States
F406 – F420	-	Arkansas
F1001 – F1145.2	-	Canada
F1201 – F3799	-	Latin America

The numbers that follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for example: the call numbers F406-420 represent books about history in Arkansas, and the call numbers F856-870 are for books about history in California. An example of a specific call number for a book entitled From Slavery to Uncertain Freedom : the Freedmen’s Bureau in Arkansas, 1865-1869 is F411 .F445 1996.

Occasionally a totally different call number will appear. This means the item is about more than history and higher importance was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.

DATABASES

You may request articles from sources we don't subscribe to through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library.

To view all our databases, click here.

Academic Search Elite
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=afh

Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
African American Periodicals 1825-1995
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription that delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
America's Historical Newspapers
America's historical newspapers including African American newspapers.
America: History and Life with Full Text
History and culture of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=31h
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 1-5: 1691-1877
Print culture dating from 1691 through 1877. Search all 5 AAS series simultaneously. Contains illustrations and ads.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=h9h%2Ch9i%2Ch9j%2Ch9k%2Ch9m
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the US Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
AP Archives: Associated Press Collections Online
Decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications and more.
Archives Unbound
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections include City and Business Directories: Arkansas, 1871-1929; Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s; and Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984.
Arts & Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Bibliographic database of works that relate to the Americas.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=hev
Historical Newspapers
Newspaper collections including the New York Times 1851-2003, Wall Street Journal 1889-1989, Atlanta Constitution 1868-1929, Atlanta Daily World, Washington Post, Chicago Defender, NY Amsterdam News, St. Louis Post Dispatch 1924-2003, Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1917 - 2013).
History Vault
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: NAACP Papers, Slavery and the Law, and Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War, and Confederate Military Manuscripts; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; and, American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975); Southern Life and African American History, Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights, Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights.
JSTOR
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record
Contains official announcements, transaction records, legal decisions, and business notices along with general local and national news.
Supports research of early American history, legal history, ethnic history, economics, and political science.
More than 100 essential newspapers from 35 states published between 1796 and 1884
American History
Surveys American history from the Colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation's rise to eminence as a global superpower. Analyzes American political conflict, economic development, and changing culture.
American History in Video
Includes newsreels, government and commercial films, and significant documentaries on various topics in American History. Contains 440 hours and more than 1,400 titles of videos.

The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts.
Artemis Primary Sources
Cross-search primary source databases including Associated Press Collections Online, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006, The Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2011, American Fiction 1774-1920, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, U.S. Supreme Court Records, and Crime, Punishment, and Pop Culture Digital Archive.
International Medieval Bibliography
A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

Comprises 440,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
More than 350 digital collections from the Library of Congress. Primary source materials, maps & photographs, letters, diaries, sound recordings, and historic films.

No use restrictions.
Making of America Journals
Full page images of primary resources from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction.

No use restrictions.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
African American Experience (ABC-Clio)
Includes student learning modules related to African American studies; includes biographies, scholarly articles, primary sources, and images
Project MUSE
Large, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
Sabin Americana
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from the 1500's to the early 1900's.
Sanborn Maps
Digital maps: Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, Mississippi and Missouri.