Finding the right NAICS codes
When doing business research, it is useful to obtain the NAICS codes and SIC codes. The links below will help you find the codes for specific types of industries. You can also find NAICS and SIC codes by looking at the industry information for a company in a database like ABI/Inform or Business Source Complete. ABI/Inform has an especially helpful tree structure for its NAICS code searching.
It is important to know these codes in order to retrieve statistical information produced by the Census as well as search certain databases by these codes.
NAICS is the North American Industry Classification System, a standard implemented in 1997 for classifying industry, product, and establishment. Use this site to find your industry NAICS code. Click on the relevant code to read its description and to ensure that you have the right code.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is an industry classification system in which all Federal economic statistics are based on up to 1996. Use this site to do a keyword search to find an SIC code for an industry.
DATABASES
The databases listed below provide the ability to search by industry classification codes.
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affliated with ASU to view the article or on the ASU campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library.
To view all our databases, click here.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Not only can you look up the NAICS codes you need using a very intuitive tree-structure display, bu you can also search for research by its assigned NAICS code. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Financial information services online, global business and financial information on public companies worldwide. You can search for company information by NAICS/SIC code or Mergent's own MIC code. - Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982 (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexing more than 1,000 business periodicals with citations to more than 2.5 million articles. Offers industry code searching.
-
Business PatternsProduced by the U.S. Census, this section of the CenStats website provides data by NAICS code for the U.S., county, metro, and zip code.
SEARCH ONESEARCH
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
