It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online sociology resources.
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online Sociology resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at firstname.lastname@example.org
Groceries: 0 votes (0%)
Exercise: 1 votes (7.69%)
Homework: 9 votes (69.23%)
Dismantling the Patriarchy: 3 votes (23.08%)
Total Votes: 13
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
Some of these databases provide the full text of the articles, while others provide only citations and/or abstracts.All are accessed by clicking on the “Library Databases” link from the library homepage.
Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Mostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Books in the Dean B. Ellis Library
All books in the
library are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification
system for call numbers and subject headings.
The call number for sociology begins with "H". The basic breakdown is as follows:
H1 - H99
HA1 - HA4737
HM401 - HM1281
HN1 - HN995
History and Conditions. Social
Problems. Social Reform.
HQ1 - HQ2044
Family. Marriage. Women.
HS1 - HS3371
secret, benevolent, etc.
HT57 - HT1595
HV1 - HV9960
Pathology. Social and Public Welfare.
The numbers that
follow these beginning letters relate to the narrower scope of the item, for
example: the call number HQ755.8 represents books about parent-child
relationships, and the call number HQ759.92 is for books about
stepparent-stepchild relationships. An
example of a specific call number for a book entitled Remarriage and Stepparenting: Current Research and Theory is
totally different call number will appear.
This means the item is about more than sociology and higher importance
was given to the other subject when the call number was assigned.