Contact the library
Library Information Desk:
phone: 870-972-3208
email: refdesk@astate.edu
DATABASES
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affliated with ASU to view the article or on the ASU campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library.
To view all our databases, click here.
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription that delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFeatures hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowCurrent journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of works that relate to the Americas.
Alternate access URL: https://research.ebsco.com/c/hawx2m/search?defaultdb=hev
-
Films on Demand History Through Films Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of academic, embeddable video, many of which are ethnographic in nature.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Massive journal and e-book collection. Contains core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
-
African American Experience (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
Includes student learning modules related to African American studies; includes biographies, scholarly articles, primary sources, and images
-
Biography And Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowEnables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
-
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new windowContains genealogies, local histories, third-party histories, and primary source materials for all 50 states, as well as Canada, England, and Ireland.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLarge, user-friendly collection of eBooks and scholarly journals.
-
Sage Research Methods and Learning Tools This link opens in a new windowIncludes content arranged by ethnography and other methodologies.
-
Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
